featured post: “gun shy” by Mission: Motherhood

Wow. AL is just slightly ahead of me in the whole desire to start TTC#2 process, so as I read her post last week, it was like seeing a window into my future – a future that I’m not all that sure I will be ready to face anytime soon.

I’m just…not excited about it at all. It’s not that I don’t want to be pregnant right now, it’s just that I don’t want to go back to that place of driving myself crazy. Of depression, loss, charting, temping, toilet-paper-inspecting, blood draws, ultrasounds, and peeing on sticks.

Amen to that.

As anyone who has struggled with IF or pregnancy loss knows, TTC loses its luster mighty quickly when you realize that, for many of us, baby making often entails more than a bottle of wine and a sexy night with your partner. Whether your struggles were with getting pregnant, staying pregnant, or going through the adoption process, it is scary to think about heading back into that abyss. AL goes on to say:

I feel no sense of urgency in trying to get pregnant again. I don’t dare hope for anything, so I’m really defeating myself before I even start.

This is a beautifully written post about the thoughts and fears so many of us face in regards to TTC for #2. Check out her full entry, gun shy, and let AL @ Mission: Motherhood know your best piece of advice about how to work through that scary prospect of trying again.

This trying for number two stuff isn’t easy. And I haven’t even really started.

Comments on this thread will be closed in an effort for you to connect with AL directly and share your thoughts with her.

*****

If you have a post (of any kind, old or new!) that you would like share, please fill out the form on the main Featured Posts page here. You are welcome to submit your a post of your own! 

And a reminder – there is a group of fabulous featured posts from June indexed under the June 2012 collection

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Gun Shy by AL (TTC #2, anxiety) […]

