memorable moment monday, vol. 11

It’s Labour Day! That’s extra fancy Labour Day, with a “u” in case you weren’t Canadian. What? You aren’t? Well, I hope today is a holiday wherever you are!

I had *BIG* plans to post a picture of the wonderful sunset my husband and I were going to enjoy, just the two of us, from my parents’ front porch in the country.

This is their front porch:

The view looking the other way is spectacular! But then, as I was typing up something I will get into in a second, my dog ran out the front door and was immediately SPRAYED BY A SKUNK:

Guess who got to give the dog three different baths? Yeah. No sunset was seen.

So, that was a memorable moment. And it was LABOURIOUS. Get it?

What about you guys? What did you get up to this (hopefully!) long weekend? Any new milestones, any adventures, any changes in your life? What do you want to share? Link us up in the comments!

*****

Oh, and ANOTHER THING! Memorable Moment Monday is currently our most popular “blog-hopping” activity. We would like to use this activity as a way of featuring members of our blogroll on a weekly basis. Here is how it will work:

  1. Fill out the form here with your contact details letting us know you would like to participate (i.e. be the “guest host” here at PAIL).
  2. Answer the “5 Questions” telling us and our readers a little about yourself, your blog and your interests. Help us get to know you better, beyond your blogroll blurb!
  3. When your turn comes around, we’ll get in touch with you a few days in advance to let you know your Monday is next and remind you to send us your picture and MMM blurb.
  4. On Monday, we’ll post your moment (blurb and photo), your blog details and your “5 Questions” interview.
  5. Folks will leave their MMM links on the post as usual.

We’re counting on you to feature yourselves! We’ll be keeping a list of submissions as they come in on one of our many spreadsheets, and we’ll run it “first come, first served” for now. Looking forward to sharing more with you!

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on little chicken nuggets.

  2. Dogs will be dogs. Probably scared the skunk away for awhile….so the Gidg is grateful! Sunrises from the porch are also specatcular so come again, bring BJB and of course those little legs that never stop…you know the ones…they are attached to HGB!!

  3. The blog post sharing sounds like a great idea!

    Sorry about the skunk adventure! (Although I guess it could have been worse–it could have been you or your husband sprayed by the skunk!)

    Here is my contribution this week: http://polantworld.blogspot.com/2012/09/memorable-moment-monday.html

    • I would have survived. But given the amount of gagging and wretching he was doing, he would have had to be taken out back and shot! Amazingly, the smell didn’t really bother me!

  4. Skunks are the enemy!!!! I did a sprint down our block with our dog last night because of one slithering around in our front hedge.

    My very first MMM – http://theyalllived.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/mmm/

    • I only heard this incident…no idea what I would have done if I had been out with him. Probably just cried!

  5. Ewww… skunks are nasty. I feel for you, I really do!

    Here’s my MMM post http://missusgamgee.blogspot.ca/2012/09/memorable-moment-monday-opinions-needed.html

  6. I also had a pointlessly laborious experience (though no skunks were involved and it was my own damn fault): http://chhotopakhi.wordpress.com/2012/09/04/memorable-moment-monday-fools-edition/

  7. Skunks, eewwww. 😦 How’s puppy doing today?

    My post, featuring something very pretty and colorful: http://twopinktulips.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/memorable-moment-monday-labor-day-edition/

  8. elizabethkbaker says:

    Beautiful house! There are deskunking dog shampoos- check out Espree brand.

    Here’s my post: http://snips-snails-puppydogtales.blogspot.com/2012/09/memorable-moment-monday-peace.html

    • Might have to look for this tomorrow! Unfortunately this happened at 10 pm on a Sunday in the middle of nowhere. Because, obviously! Thanks for the tip!

  9. Oh my gosh, it is Monday, isn’t it? Mine will have to be my latest post from today – because it has a cute photo from this afternoon and it’s been a more than memorable Monday and weekend 😉 http://allthesunforyou.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/all-is-well/

  10. UGH, that sucks that your dog got sprayed. Chief used to be the WORST at always getting sprayed (we had a FAMILY of skunks living underneath our old house – ewwww!).

    http://mycheapversionoftherapy.com/2012/09/03/memorable-moment-monday-holiday-weekend-edition/

  11. Oh yuck!!! My neighbor hit a skunk with their car and it stunk up my front yard for weeks….I shiver at the thought of one of the furries getting skunked….not fun…super sad too about missing the front porch sun set…I told my husband when we get a real house I want a front porch….

    My MMM will be absent this week….I’ve been so super busy I’m about 8 days behind and swear today is Sunday not Monday 😉

  12. What a gorgeous house! Sorry about the skunk 😦

    • We have a neighborhood skunk who crosses through our yard regularly. I’m just waiting for the day I go out there to take the trash out at night and get blasted. I will seriously be pissed. And then I will cry. A lot. No picture for me this week. Loving the “guest host” idea for MMM – which one of you brilliant ladies thought that one up???

      • I saw your pic on Twitter! That counts!

        We’ve had a free-floating idea like this in development for a while, but, contact with a reader gave us the nudge to just do it. Great response so far – we’re very excited! Sign up!

  13. Oh no!! Darn skunks! Was at my aunt’s house today and their dog rolled in a dead seal.. also not pleasant. Sorry, no MMM from me this week but will be back at it soon!

Trackbacks

  1. […] post is part of PAIL’s memorable moment Monday blog hop to be involved click here Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in Uncategorized | […]

  2. […] Okay.  Here’s my first MMM. […]

  3. […] post is part of PAIL’s Memorable Moment Monday. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted on […]

  4. […] way to end a long weekend!  (I forot it was Monday, and was looking forward to posting my Memorable Moment tomorrow.  But it’s today.  So this will be that moment!) “I love my new […]

  5. […] on over to PAIL to join in Memorable Moment Monday and check out everyone else’s posts! Share […]

  6. […] I not already posted my moment yesterday, this would have been […]

  7. […] us away on a brief Labor (or Labour) Day getaway to her parents’ gorgeous cabin by a lake for this week’s Memorable Moment Monday. I will confess to taking a few moments to be envious– I have a “thing” for front […]

  8. […] post is part of PAIL’s Memorable Moment Monday. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

