news item: ‘letting myself go’

In college I joined the cross-country team. Now don’t think I was, or am, some healthy runner chick. Yeah, no. I joined because I knew I had to start exercising regularly and I knew I wouldn’t keep it up on my own. I figured a team sport would motivate me to stick with it, and also, the cross-country team at my college didn’t make cuts, so I was in! And I did stick with it. I became a runner.  My senior year I went for my annual physical that all athletes had to have to play a team sport. The college nurse, who I knew quite well, remarked that since joining the team I had lost some weight and gained a lot of muscle. She said to me, “Boy I wish I could love running like you do.” I looked at her point-blank and said “No, no, I hate running.” She asked me why I was doing it. I told her quite simply that I knew I had to do something to keep me healthy, running was a cheap sport to do, and if it meant I could eat a cupcake or ice cream and not have to worry about it, then I would do it. Mmm, cupcakes…where was I?  The nurse laughed and said that was one of the most honest statements she had ever heard from a college student.

My point, and I do have one, is that I am still a runner today, but it is not some grand love of running that gets me up at 5 am to run, or sneaking in a quick run while the baby naps. It’s the fact that I know, we all know, we should stay physically active.  And we all know just how hard that is once kids come into the picture. So when a well-known trainer, gives an interview in which she shames pregnant women and new moms for “letting themselves go” I get a little upset.

Tracy Anderson, Gwyneth Paltrow’s personal trainer, gave an interview in which she said that not only had she dropped her thirty pounds of baby weight in six weeks after giving birth, but that,

“A lot of women use pregnancy as an excuse to let their bodies go, and that’s the worst thing.”

This comment implies that not only are “a lot” of women lazy and unhealthy during pregnancy, but as the author of the article states:

“…it’s unrealistic to suggest that women who don’t lose the baby weight quickly are ‘letting their bodies go,’ or using their children as excuses to put off fitness.”

There are so many levels of ‘wrongness’ I feel about this story.  On the surface are the trainer’s comments.  They are inflammatory and insensitive.  And I am quite sure Tracy Anderson knew what she was doing; you see this interview was given along with the promoting of her new DVDs for, wait for it…pregnancy fitness workouts!  And the rule in media is ‘any press is good press’.  So Tracy got lots of attention for her new line of DVDs.

The author further goes on to state another level of ‘wrongness’:

“And, while it’s normal to lose weight after the birth of a baby (some women have an easier time of it than others), losing all of it by six-weeks postpartum, as Tracy Anderson did, is not the norm. Most doctors won’t even clear women for exercise until their six-week checkup, and if you’ve had tearing or complications (as I did with all three of my boys) then the wait can be even longer. And, too much exercise and dieting can also interfere with breastmilk production, so it’s best to go easy while you’re nursing and while your baby is so young.”

And yet this article only begins to hint, in my opinion, at the real issues here, the real ‘wrongness’, that this is yet ANOTHER story about a woman casting judgment on other women.  Why are we so damn ready to judge each other?  I was constantly asked, by relative strangers, how much weight I was gaining during my pregnancy.  Since when is it suddenly ok to ask a woman that question?  And why does it matter?  I gained in the range my midwife told me to gain and that is all that counts.  And what if, and I don’t, but what if I had a history of an eating disorder, and being asked that question triggered my old issues?

The fact is that no one ever really knows another person’s back-story, or if they do, they don’t know how it truly feels unless they have lived it themselves.  And yet we continually judge each other:  amount of weight we gain, non-medicated birth or epidural, breast-feeding or formula, co-sleeping or crib, and it goes on.  When the only thing that really counts, the only thing that should matter, EVER, is the fact that a healthy child was born, game over, miracle created.

And so the day I wrote this post my little girl napped like a champ, three naps over an hour each.  I did not choose to go for a run on the treadmill however, just didn’t feel like it.  Instead I rested and made brownies.  I’ll try again tomorrow to fit in a run.  But my exercising will never be about trying to fit into some unrealistic expectation that the celebrity culture puts on women.  My exercising will be to make myself healthy so that I can be the best Mom I can be and hopefully model a healthy body image and healthy eating to my daughter.  (And also teach her that cupcakes are little bites of heaven.)

****

What do you think about trainer Tracy Anderson’s statements?  Were they motivating or derogatory?

Almost all parenting topics seem to come with some form of judgement, do you feel the ALI community is less judgemental?  In what ways?  Are there any ways you feel the ALI community is more judgemental?

Tracy Anderson gave a followup interview trying to explain her comments (see a video of it here along with a write-up * that is a bit catty *) but didn’t actually apologize.  Do you feel she explained herself any better?

How do you feel about the ‘judgemental culture’ we seem to live in?  How do you handle it?

Have you written a blog post on this issue?  Or if this article inspires you to write one, share the link in the comments!

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Metholic's Blog.

  2. Okay, I’m trying to not be a crazy psycho on this post. It strikes a very serious nerve with me, and I’m on the rag, and that’s just not a good combination! LOL. I actually felt my heart rate speed up when I was reading this, wanting to punch some faces. 🙂 First, I saw her “apology” that basically amounted to “sorry that I told you that you’re fat and lazy, but you know it’s true, I just shouldn’t have said it out loud.” With her unmoving, and oddly fascinating, overly botoxed lips. So being fat is awful. In case anyone out there doesn’t know. It’s awful. And it’s damn near impossible to get out of. And just like IF, nobody understands it, nobody validates it, and you get judged and laughed at constantly… and people think it’s okay. It’s socially acceptable to be prejudiced against fat people. And the old “just diet and exercise” is about the same for us as “just relax and you’ll get pregnant” would be here. People just don’t know the facts. They just don’t care to find out, and it’s easier to dismiss us by saying we’re fat and lazy.

    I wrote a post about this when I was pregnant with my daughter who is turning 1 next week. You can read that here: http://fruitsnacksandfreezerjam.blogspot.com/2011/02/beauty.html But first, I’ll give you just a little back story, since I didn’t really include it there…and I feel like I need to justify the fact that I’m fat before anyone judges… which is sad, but true. I was very athletic growing up. My first baby set off an autoimmune response, and my thyroid started dying. I was a size 10, and wanting to lose the baby weight. Eating 1200 calories or less per day, and exercising… I gained a full 100 pounds in a year of being undiagnosed/misdiagnosed. Getting on the medication stopped the weight gain, but it’s nearly impossible to reverse it. I have PCOS, Hashimoto’s, and stage IV adrenal failure. I can’t even explain how hard it is to lose weight. There are no words.

    • Oh my gosh Coco! What an ordeal to go through! I do feel that being overweight is the only socially acceptable ‘thing’ that people believe is ok to be cruel about. It all makes me so mad, you have no idea what a person is going through/has gone through, yet we see an overweight person and BAM, instant judging! Plus if I had the $900 a month it takes to belong to her gym and have her as my trainer, I bet I’d look awesome too.

    • Hun, I’m so sorry you have all those medical conditions. I know they affect your health far beyond just weight, but the weight is the forefront of what people will see (and judge). The thing that SUCKS about being fat is you can’t hide it like you can with a lot of other things.

      Fatness is stigmatized so strongly because it’s tied in with morality. People see fat people as immoral, unrestrained, with no impulse control or priorities, bad hygiene, no self-esteem… ugh. And it’s still totally socially acceptable, even for people who claim to be all for fairness and equality (*AHEM* GEORGE TAKEI *AHEM* I’m not ready to let that one go) to make fun of us. Like, dude. I don’t feel badly enough about myself? You gotta rub it in for a cheap laugh?

      I saw a video on YouTube while I was pregnant from a very thin and athletic woman who was “proving” through a series of photos of herself that you CAN go through a twin pregnancy and get right back to your pre-pregnancy body. And it was like… no. You can’t simplify it like that. Your body is not my body. It’s not anyone’s body but yours, and it’s not that simple.

  3. It makes me crazy that we need to worry about weight for any reason other than health. Around my household, we’re really excited to live somewhere it’s safe to go outside to exercise (we lived in a rural area with tiny shoulders and speedy drivers before) AND that we can afford a gym membership. Those aren’t givens for everyone. I’m a big fan of giving my body a whole year to quit having baby weight hanging around once the baby is in external mode. Granted, school really kills my ability to eat healthy (look at me using time not on cooking and not on school right now… oops…) so I figure that we’ll make the little improvements we can now. As a rather overweight person, I was really looking forward to six months of really training and getting healthier, but now I’m pregnant and have the project of gaining as little weight as my doctor recommends. I loathe having to obsess about my snacks and trying to balance a newborn with that level of attention to anything seems impossible to me, and I have no intention of doing it. Can’t we all just get along and play nice? Isn’t it hard enough being parents without having to fret about losing weight immediately? I will say that around the PAIL realms I feel less judgement generally and that’s awesome. Judgement=a reflection of your problems with yourself.

    • You’re last sentance: WORD. People judge when they are insecure about their own issues. Also I like your first sentance as well, because in America, and most westernized countries, we call being obese an epidemic, whereas in MOST of the world the real issue is UNDERnourishment and starvation. I bet if those “judgers” took a break from judging others and tried to actually help people who are starving we’d all be a lot better off.

  4. I also feel quite angry at people who want us to be slim after pregnancy. I have pretty much lost most of it, but I still have a slight bump and quite frankly I don’t care. That’s because it’s the same bump that was there before. I don’t have a flat stomach. So sue me.
    Re Tracy Anderson: I think she was just selling her DVDs. And of course, being a personal trainer, she has an athletic mindset.
    I am extremely unfit and have let my gym membership slide.
    There is someone more important in my life that will care more about my responses, feeding and presense than the shape of my body. My little baby. That is where my priorities are right now.
    People will always be judgemental to support their choices, whichever community they belong to. The important thing is to acknowledge “this is what has worked for me” and support your fellow mom in whichever path she has chosen. I did write a bit about the Mommy Wars in a book review here. Oops hacked again… Sigh…

    • I just want to say I write this reply while wearing my maternity jeans 10 weeks post baby. They are comfy, and my other jeans…sigh not a chance. But you know what, don’t care. My baby is here and each day with her is such an amazing thing, why would I worry about if I’ve lost all my baby weight fast enough? And most doctor’s say that you need to give it a full year to lose the weight, especially if you are breast feeding.

      • I’m still in mine almost 10 months later. I can’t wear regular pants that don’t have a stretchy band… my loose belly skin has to go somewhere. Bleh.

  5. I have really mixed feelings about this topic, but I tend to kind of agree with her (whaaaaat?! To a point, though, to a point!) I agree that a lot of women don’t eat as well as they probably should while they are pregnant and that a lot of women gain WAY more weight than they need to. Of course, how much weight is healthy to gain is wildly debated even among doctors. While pregnant (with twins, starting out on the heavier side of “normal”) I had one doctor tell me to gain 45lbs and one tell me to gain 25. I had one doctor at an appointment tell me that I was not gaining quickly enough. I had another doctor say “wow, you gained xx amount of lbs in 3 weeks?! I couldn’t do that if I tried!” (To which, in my head, I responded “you also couldn’t gestate two human fetuses in your non-existent male uterus, you A**!” ) Later in my pregnancy I developed GD and I made my eating habits my #1 pregnancy mission. I ate better while I was pregnant than I ever have in my life, gained a healthy 35ish lbs, and lost most of it within a month (not because I was working out, but because it was mostly truly “baby weight”). I have multiple friends who gained 60-80lbs with a singleton and are now lamenting that fact. I think even they would agree they used pregnancy as an excuse and plain ol’ ate too damn much. I don’t care how much weight they gained, but THEY do! So it’s not a judgment thing for me, just something that I bet most women wish they had figured *before* they did it. If I hadn’t had GD, I probably would have been stuffing my face with plates of pasta and copious amounts of ice cream, I’m not gonna lie. For me, that diagnosis was an amazing blessing in disguise.

    Where I disagree with the trainer is the implication that the baby weight should be lost so quickly. To get right to the point: what parallel universe do you live in that you can (or would even want to!) parent a newborn child and focus that much attention on getting your body back within 6 weeks? That is just crazy talk. I think women put too much pressure on themselves and each other to lose the “baby weight” weight too fast. And again, I don’t care if you EVER lose it… but if you care, and I’m your friend, then I’ll support you in working to lose weight. Just like I hope you would support me. Which means no we cannot go to starbucks and get maple nut scones. Dangit. A maple nut scone sounds so good right now… *SIGH*

    • There is so much debate about what is healthy and what is not for pregnancy and for weight issues in general. I panicked about everything I ate while pregnant, worried if I ate doritos or something with transfat in it my baby would be doomed to get cancer or something. I think there are extremes on both ends of this issue and finding the balance is key. I like your comment about her losing that weight so fast, I felt like I operated in a coma-like state my first 6 weeks, so who was parenting her child while she was exercising and sleeping so she would have the energy to exercise?

    • This happened to me, too! My practice does a team approach with OBs and midwives so you can try both out, and I saw the midwife ONCE, at 8 weeks, and once only. She told me– I was 200lb at that appointment, and 5’3″– that I should only be gaining 15 lbs, and I shouldn’t eat any sugar. My doctor, later, told me 30-35 pounds would be fine, and she was concerned that someone had told me to gain only 15 because there were gonna be TWO babies in there, duh. Ultimately, I only gained 27 or 28, and I’m now 189lb (11lb UNDER my pre-preg weight) and I am a bigger size and have a nightmare of loose belly skin and and stretch marks and squishiness and absolutely no abs. Sooooo Tracy Anderson can take one of her nice shiny little hand-held weights and stick it somewhere because I am not interested in her thoughts on my weight. lol.

  6. I agree that pregnancy should not be an excuse to gorge yourself and gain a lot of weight, but her comments were very derogatory and I think she contributes to the problem she is calling out by emphasizing losing baby weight so quickly. While I don’t have pregnancy baby weight, I have probably gained 10 pounds (maybe 15) in the last 3 years since my son was born. I admit it is because I’ve let myself indulge in crappier foods and haven’t figured out how to make time for exercising. I work outside the home, so ultimately, the weight gain comes down to no time and fatigue. When I have a free moment, I’d rather surf, read or watch mindless tv.

    I think that the ALI community can be both less judgmental and more judgmental, depending on the issue. Some ALI members are much more anything goes after their various experiences, while some react to their experiences by developing very strong convictions. Just my opinion.

    • Nothing, pregnancy included, should ever be an excuse to be unhealthy, however do you think that people are more ‘accepting’ of over-indulging when they say “oh I had a bad day, I want a cookie” or “oh we’re celebrating, I’ll have an extra beer”? I mean we have a million excuses to indulge and ‘let go’ but I feel this trainer focused on just ONE way we make excuses to let ourselves lapse.

  7. As a fatty…who struggled to get pregnant, lost 40 pounds, had her hormones go all wonky making getting pregnant even more of a struggle, getting pregnant and losing the baby rather quickly, then struggling with depression and a poor relationship with food…who finally after all that got pregnant with IVF, I have very strong feelings on this.

    I am with Gemini Momma in that I think a lot of women just let it all go…especially with the first one. Goodness, look at celebs like Jessica Simpson and Kate Hudson, who gained well over the 20-30 lbs recommended by the Institute of Medicine, based on the mothers BMI before getting pregnant. I lost my 26 pounds gained in pregnancy in the first 2 weeks post partum. I did nothing other than eat healthy. I unfortunately gained 5 pounds when I stopped pumping breast milk, but I knew this was a risk and was careful to cut back on calories. I have since lost those 5 pounds with just every day activities and health eating. I’m still fat…I still have a pouch. My body shape changed dramatically during and after pregnancy. I’m working on getting pregnant with #2 and have decided not to do anything drastic with my body, ie strenuous workouts or drastic diets, until I’ve finished adding to my family. The up and down can’t be good for me as I’ve seen in the past how it affects my hormones so I’m going to stay right where I am and see what happens. When I’m done with the whole having kids thing and I’m done producing milk to feed those kids…I’m all set for a mommy make over…

    This personal trainer to the stars, who lies about how long it took her to lose her baby weight (11 weeks not 6), has a lot of things you and I don’t have. Sarah Jessica Parker said it best, “It’s really unfair to working women in America who read celebrity news and think, ‘Why can’t I lose weight when I’ve had a baby?’ Well, everyone you’re reading about has money for a trainer and a chef. That doesn’t make it realistic.” I love this quote…I could do a lot of things if I had a trainer and a chef and a nanny and a maid. I could have spent 8 hours working out while someone else did all the work around my house…and then of course I wouldn’t have to work because if I could afford all of those things, why on earth would I work?

  8. Oh! I had so many thoughts when I read this last week. A lot of knee-jerk reactions, honestly. Instead, I will answer your questions above to keep it all together!
    1) I think her statements are derogatory. I do not believe in judgment and shaming as a motivational tool. There is a difference between “I did it, and so can you!” and “I did it, and so SHOULD you.” It sounds a little like “I went on vacation and got pregnant and so can/should you!” Our bodies just don’t work like that.
    2) I think the degree to which judgment is implied and/or perceived has a lot to do with the writer, and the reader, and the dynamic between the two. I think the ALI community functions in the same way. We can be less judgmental about certain topics, and more on others. My biggest issue has always been the way “fertiles” and their pregnancies/parenting are discussed in various forums. Sometimes, it ain’t pretty – venting or not. I think this contributes to the feelings on not wanting to seem “ungrateful” or like you are “complaining” when you have something real and valid to say about that part of the journey.
    3) Mrrrrrp. That apology sounds very much like “I’m sorry you feel that way.” Which is not an apology.
    4) Haters gonna hate! If I feel very judged by a blog/website/person, I just stop interacting with them. I don’t have the time or the energy to engage with that. Which is not to say I only insulate myself with like-minded people. People who challenge me, but are not judgmental assholes, are the best!
    5) Can this be my post on the topic? It seems long enough to be a post! Great questions!

    • I like your comment on judgment, how it’s hard sometimes to convey legitimate issues for fear of judgment. I do think in general this community tends to be more open, but like any community we can have our ‘moments’.

  9. Wow… I have so many things I could say about this, but I think I will just call ‘bullsh!t” on most of her statements and go off on a rant. Sound good? 😉

    Attitudes like hers continue to encourage bullying of people who struggle with weight issues. Sadly, this attitude carries over into the medical world. It’s far too prevelant for an obese pregnant woman to be told not to gain any weight, or too lose weight (which goes against any and all official medical association guidelines). I gained a grand total of 8 pounds with Ginny and 11 pounds with Pippin. My new OB wagged her finger at me at every appointment, even when I was losing weight through my second trimester, constantly reminding me that my weight is a ‘huge issue’, as if I wasn’t 100% aware of it. Obese pregnant women have a higher c-section rate (because they are not allowed to try and labour naturally… they are either induced early or scheduled for a c-section all due to the mythic ‘giant baby’ that all fat women supposedly have). And it’s not just limited to obstetric issues… obese patients are regularly under-diagnosed and under-medicated when genuinely ill because doctors just see the number on the scale and blame that for any and all symptoms. I highly recommend the Well-Rounded Mama’s blog (http://wellroundedmama.blogspot.ca/) for more info on how people of size, particularly pregnant women, can stand up for themselves and get the treatment they need and deserve.

    The expectation that new moms should have lost all their baby weight by 6 weeks is unhealthy and unrealistic. Yes, I agree that there is a tendency for some women to go crazy eating whatever, whenever while pregnant, and then gaining more than they should. But to say that all women should be back to their pre-pregnancy weight so quickly after giving birth is not only setting women up for failure at a time when emotions are already a wee bit wonky, but soooo not what they should be focussing on. Baby’s health and well-being, and mom’s full recovery are far more important.

    Phooey on Tracey Anderson!

    • Thanks for the link to that blog! I do think prejudice against obese persons is so socially acceptable that we don’t even realize it half the time, like your example of lower quality medical care.

  10. Lose it all by 6 weeks post-partum? That’s a crazy, unobtainable goal. I was barely sleeping, lucky to have food in the house, let alone worry about what number was on the scale. Why start the battle with the scale so early? It took time to put the weight on, it’s going to take some time to take it back off. Give your body time to heal!

    I gained 50 pounds with my son and I lost it all + 10 pounds about 10 months post partum. I didn’t do any crazy diets, weight slowly fell off with breastfeeding and I was so lucky with that. I didn’t want to gain that much weigh while pregnant – I ate well, I exercised, but I ate a lot. I was crazy hungry, particularly in the 3rd trimester.

    It’s a slow process to get your body back after having a baby. I don’t know why Tracy Anderson feels the need to put such ridiculous expectations around it.

    • Part of me, a VERY SMALL part, feels sorry for her. She has either convinced herself that this is ok, or she feels so much pressure to lose it because she is this famous trainer and everyone is watching her. However, it’s still not ok, but I can see where maybe this is some type of eating-exercise disorder she may have or pressure she feels from society, again, not ok, but I do want to try and see things from the ‘other’ side too.

  11. Ok I am going to preface this with “I didn’t read the article” but ….. I do think sometimes we use pregnancy as an excuse to errr indulged. Speaking only for myself that now has a good 10kg to lose as a result of not caring enough I wish I had been more strict and continued my exercise. It really hit home when my bestie who gave birth 7w after me was smaller than me within a week. She had maintained her exercise and I hadn’t. Whilst I hate the additional pressure on women to look good I think on the whole we do far less daily activity and lead more sedentary lifestyles and a lot of us use pregnancy as an excuse. For myself that has bitten me in the arse in a huge way.

    • I definately indulged during pregnancy, but as I reflect back if I wasn’t indulging with the excuse of “I’m pregnant I deserve a cookie” I would have just instead said “I had a hard day, I deserve a cookie.” Either way it’s not ok, but I’m not going to berate myself too much. I think we can always look back and see ways we could of done better, but I try not to dwell on it too much and instead look forward to how I will be better.

  12. While I don’t agree with everything Tracy says, I 100% DO think that “A lot of women use pregnancy as an excuse to let their bodies go, and that’s the worst thing,” I can’t tell you how many of my friends warned me AGAINST doing that when they found out I was pregnant – not because they were being rude, but b/c THEY had overindulged and “ate for 2” during their pregnancies, and many of them gained 50+ pounds and really struggled to lose the baby weight aftewards.

    My two very best friends in the world BOTH told me that they gained 70# their first pregnancies b/c of “eating for two” and not working out… and with their 2nd pregnancies (mind you, busier than ever with 3 year olds running around), they both ate right, moved their bodies, gained 25# (the recommended amt for their body types/pre-preg weights) and felt fit and healthy their entire pregnancies, had easier labors (and yes I do think there is a correlation there) and lost the weight pretty quickly after. Because of them, I was inspired to try to be healthy with my pregnancy, and I was worked hard to make healthy food choices and move my body my entire pregnancy. I gained 25#, I was fit and strong for labor, and I lost the weight (well, THAT weight) fairly quickly.

    Now I’m just struggling with the last 20# that will probably only leave if i quit drinking, but that’s a whole ‘nuther story, b/c DAMMIT I love beer.

    ps – I am somehow who struggled with bulemia all through my 20s, so I am GRATEFUL to report that I was able to maintain a healthy weight gain throughout my pregnancy, b/c BELIEVE ME I would have been even more miserable if I had gained way too much, b/c it would have been hard to resist falling back into the ED world to take it off afterwards.

    • Pregnancy after ED is totally its own whole novel, but yeah, doing it successfully is totally something to be proud of! For me, it was weird how I finally felt awesome about my body and how I looked. (I still didn’t trust my body to do the whole “make and sustain babies” thing because of IF, but that’s a separate thing.) It’s after that pregnancy that is the hardest. ❤

  13. I thought about joining cross country in high school for the same reasons. I didn’t(don’t) like running, but I knew it would keep me healthy. But I think our team made cuts, so I never went for it. There was this boy…and I didn’t want to be embarrassed if I got cut… and… where was I?

    I didn’t work out as much as I should have during my pregnancy, mostly because of bad round ligament pain. But I did my best to eat right when I could. Towards the end I made myself go to yoga. I don’t think it helped me either way in the weight department. I gained about 30# which was my goal, but dang, it kept me flexible. Even the yoga instructor was impressed with how flexible I was at 9mo pregnant! Now I’m back to taking a pole class to get myself moving at least once a week, and while I have lost some strength and muscle since being pregnant the first time, I haven’t lost my flexibility.

    I have anger issues with celebrity culture and baby weight loss. There is a healthy way of losing the weight and I’m not always sure celebs adhere to that. And why should they? I mean, if they have the means and ways to get a personal trainer who will train with them hours every day…Usually they need the fit and trim body to get work. In some ways I’m jealous of that.

    It’s funny I’m reading this now… I just commented on someone’s FB status about trying to lose baby weight. We both agreed that we don’t have the time to make time for ourselves to work out with a baby around. I know there are “Mommy and Me” classes, but, um, 10am on a Tuesday doesn’t exactly fit into a working mother’s schedule.

Trackbacks

  1. […] wrote a news piece about letting yourself go when pregnant.  I have really mixed conflicting feelings about the […]

  2. […] opened up a can of Spaghetti-Os with a touchy subject in her news item, “Letting Myself Go.” Despite the sensitive nature of the subject, we had an amazing discussion in the […]

  3. […] much less shower before 4pm each day. To see the post I wrote that she is responding to, go here: http://pailbloggers.com/2012/09/05/news-item-letting-myself-go/ This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. ← news item: 'letting […]

  4. […] Letting Myself  Go – (pregnancy, postpartum weight loss, body image) […]

