the monday snapshot – delenn

This is the inaugural edition of The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections.

So, without further ado, meet Delenn of Slaying, Blogging, Whatever!

I thought this was a great “Snap Shot” of our family (and it was one of our most memorable moments this year). 

In April, we went to the Boston Comic Con.  We are a family of Geeks so we do geeky things like that.  The big moment for all of us was meeting and sitting in on a panel of Mad Magazine creators.  Not only did we grow up reading Mad Magazine, our son is a current subscriber and has read many of our old ones.  Pictured is my son and daughter meeting Paul Coker, Jr. –an awesome Mad illustrator (and the younger crowd would know him as the animator for that classic “Frosty the Snowman”).  It also happened to be my daughter’s birthday–so now she has a signed Frosty the Snowman print in her room. 

(Here is a link to the post I did about this in April:  http://polantworld.blogspot.com/2012/04/mad-time.html )

*****

Delenn dishes with us via the “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started blogging in 2004 because most of our family lived 800 miles away.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences).

We were surprised with a diagnosis of Secondary Male Factor Infertility. We spent 5-6 years trying to have a sibling for our son. Our second IVF/ICSI cycle was successful and we now are dealing with two children with a ten year age gap.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I don’t think I am that rare, however I do not see that many blogs about Secondary Infertility. Also, my son has ADHD/High Functioning Aspergers and I talk about dealing with that at times.

4) One word to describe yourself:

Curious.

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

I found An Inch of Gray  at a really tragic time–I found out through another blog I read regularly that her 12 year old son was taken too early through a tragic accident.  My son was 12 years old at the time so I my heart broke for her, her husband and her daughter.  Reading her blog is an amazing journey through grief and how you pick up the pieces.  I cannot help but see my son in her son’s place.

*****

As always, please share your Monday Snapshot with us in the comments below and travel around to see everyone else’s. And of course, swing on over to Slaying, Blogging, Whatever! and introduce yourself to our lovely guest host, Delenn!

If you would like to be featured as guest host of The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. What a fun memory to have!! My trackback is below… still getting the hang of this WP thing, so here is my link anyway. 🙂
    http://mycheapversionoftherapy.com/2012/09/10/the-monday-snapshot-cuddles-edition/

  2. Yay Monday Snapshot! I love learning more about our little community. (Comic Con – woot!) Here’s mine! http://threegeminisandasagittarius.blogspot.com/2012/09/the-monday-snapshot-little-reader.html

  3. Nice to “meet” you and your family! Here is a link to mine: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2012/09/memorable-moment-monday.html

  4. My son would LOVE comic con! He is probably the only Kindergartner who can identify Stan Lee on sight. LOL. 🙂 Anyway, here’s my post… it’s a bit wordy, so you can just scroll to the pictures at the bottom. http://fruitsnacksandfreezerjam.blogspot.com/2012/09/first-day-of-kindergarten.html

  5. Love the new Snapshot….Learning a little about the “behind the IF” of the blogger is really nice!

    Here is my snapshot for this week:
    http://fertiltyfrustration.blogspot.com/2012/09/the-monday-snapshot.html

  6. Boston Comicon! I’ve never been, but I really should at some point since I live about 10 minutes from Boston 😉 Have you heard of the Comic “Healed?” A friend of mine writes it! There would have been a tall attractive lady with a long black-hair wig and a nurse’s uniform as well; that’s my friend Diana. Man, I really should have been at that thing. We could take the babies next year…

    Here’s my Monday Snapshot: http://twopinktulips.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/the-monday-snapshot-strawberry-ice-cream-edition/

  7. Thanks for the Snapshot! I think this feature is nice–I hope to learn more about my fellow IF bloggers!

  8. Love this new little feature… was nice to learn more about you!! Here is my snapshot for the week… although it is actually from a few days ago on the last stop of our trip: http://www.palmtreemama.blogspot.com/2012/09/monday-snapshot.html

  9. Oops, I wrote my MMM post before I clicked over and read today’s… totally forgot that the new Snapshot feature was starting today. Well… here’s my MMM. It’s just been that kind of day!

    http://missusgamgee.blogspot.ca/2012/09/memorable-moment-mondays-blustery-day.html#comment-form

    I’ve always wanted to go to a Comic Con. I love that your family is into Mad Magazine! Don’t hear about it all that often any more. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] post is part of PAIL’s new series, The Monday Snapshot. Please head over to meet our guest host of the week! To join in, click on the link and add in your […]

  2. […] is part of The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL (formerly Memorable Moment Monday). Click on over and join in! Share […]

  3. […] is part of PAIL’s newly revamped Monday post series! Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  4. […] is part of The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL (formerly Memorable Moment Monday). Click on over and join in! Share […]

  5. […] week we introduced Delenn as our first guest host of The Monday Snapshot! Please stop by her place and say […]

