the monday snapshot – Mrs. Gamgee

This is the 3rd edition of The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections.

This week we are pleased to introduce Mrs. Gamgee of Hobbit-ish Thoughts and Ramblings !

One of the things that was forefront in my thoughts when I was pregnant with Pippin was how Ginny would handle having a new baby around the house.  Would she be jealous?  See him as some sort of usurper?  Or would she want to treat him like one of her many stuffies… hauled around by the ear, sat on, and squeezie-hugged within an inch of his life?  The answer to all of the above is yes.  Yes, she was jealous, and even angry at times that she wasn’t getting the same kind of attention that she used to.  And there have been times when I’m sure she thinks he’s just a bigger version of one of her stuffed toys. 

But recently I’ve noticed a change.  Ginny is learning to be affectionate with Pip.  She wants to share her sippy cup with him (usually involves her attempting to shove the straw in his face), and she loves to ‘read’ stories to him.  And while there are times when I have to rescue our wee little mister from the loving attentions of his big sister, I am thankful that there is already a blooming sibling love.  I know that in the future they will have their battles and disagreements.  I can only hope that this early affection she feels for him will continue to grow.

*****

Mrs. Gamgee dishes with us via the “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I got started blogging almost 4 years ago, when we were about to announce our first pregnancy to the world.  I set up my blog, with the intent of being able to share our pregnancy updates with family and friends.  Ironically, the morning after I set up my corner of the blogosphere, I woke up spotting.  A week later, I wrote my first blog post, about miscarrying.  It was a hard beginning, and it took a few months (and another miscarriage) before I started blogging regularly and found the ALI community.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family

After a chemical pregnancy and two miscarriages, I begged my OB to help me find out what was going on.  I went through about five months of testing and procedures, and another chemical pregnancy, before we discovered that I had a slightly septate uterus (kind of heart-shaped) and a progesterone deficiency.  A little more than a year after our second miscarriage, we got our sticky bfp, a mega prescription for prometrium suppositories, and ultimately our wee sweet girl, Ginny.  With our history, we started trying again very soon after Ginny was born, and amazingly we were blessed with another sticky bfp 9 months later, our wee little mister Pippin.  My pregnancies were tough… high blood pressure, insulin dependant gestational diabetes, and a partial previa made things tricky, but ultimately our family is complete and I’m thankful.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Unique?  Me?  I guess it would have to be my over-identifying with the residents of the Shire.  Yes, I’m that much of a geek.

4) One word to describe yourself:

Wall-flower

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

I recently came across Message With A Bottle and I love it.  It’s written by a SAHD who leaves little parenting-related reminders on post-it notes around the house.  It’s hysterical!  (Be advised, he uses some colourful language.)

*****

As always, please share your Monday Snapshot with us in the comments below and travel around to see everyone else’s. And of course, swing on over to Hobbit-ish Thoughts and Ramblings and introduce yourself to our lovely guest host, Mrs. Gamgee!

If you would like to be featured as guest host of The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Comments

  1. I love The Shire. 🙂 Fun to get to know a little more about you!
    I just checked out that blog, and oh my GOSH he is funny!

    Here is my contribution to the Snapshot!
    http://mycheapversionoftherapy.com/2012/09/24/the-monday-snapshot-smartie-pants-edition/

  2. What a sweet picture of those two! Here is my contribution for this week: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2012/09/the-monday-snapshot-all-smiles.html

  3. Hey there Mrs. Gamgee! Thank you so much for sharing this picture and story with us! This gives me hope that adding my own new little one will be a rough, but also smooth transition. Following you and reading about your adventures with your two little people helps to soothe my nerves. 🙂

    And yeah… Message in a Bottle cracks me UP!

    My snapshot should be in the pingbacks below… don’t forget to check the pingbacks folks!

    • It’s a transition, and a balancing act for sure. But it’s really fun now to watch Ginny try to engage Pip in conversation or make him laugh. You’re going to do great!

  4. Froooodoooo Baggiiiiiins! I loved those books, am hoping they do justice to The Hobbit in the movie as well. What a cute pic of Ginny and Pippin!

    Here’s my Monday… http://threegeminisandasagittarius.blogspot.com/2012/09/the-monday-snapshot-hair-fail.html

    • I’m hoping that the hobbit movie will be awesome (the fact that Peter Jackson is in charge eased some of my fears that they would totally ruin it). I haven’t actually seen any of the trailers yet, because I want to go into the movie with no expectations. We’ll see how much longer I can hold out.

  5. Thanks for giving me what I hope is a preview of what my little family will look like if we are lucky enough to have another. I love that your unique quality is The Shire….I haven’t signed up for the post because I don’t know how to answer those kinds of questions about me…

    anywho…here’s my Snapshot for the week:
    http://fertiltyfrustration.blogspot.com/2012/09/monday-snapshotcat-burglar-edition.html

    • The ‘unique’ one was a stumper for sure. But you should totally sign up. We all have something random or maybe even a little nuts that makes us stand out in the crowd. 🙂

  6. What a sweet photo. So nice that she is starting to become more affectionate with him! 🙂

    Here are my two Monday Snapshots (yes I cheated) from yesterday and this afternoon spent lazing in the pool (as today is a holiday here) and Alidia’s new ‘pool smile’! 🙂 http://www.palmtreemama.blogspot.com/2012/09/the-monday-snapshot-pool-smile.html

  7. Cute, cute, cute! This is what we all dream about when we think of having two babies!

  8. Such a sweet picture! Yeah, it made me feel better too knowing that Peter Jackson was directing The Hobbit.

  9. Such a sweet picture of your kiddos…so glad to get to know you better.

    Here’s my Monday Snapshot…lots of butterflies from a little adventure this weekend —–> http://meanderingsteph.blogspot.com/2012/09/butterflies.html

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: Daddy, Life […]

  2. […] post is part of PAIL’s weekly series, The Monday Snapshot. Please head over to meet our guest host of this week, Mrs. Gamgee! To join in, click on the link […]

  3. […] post is part of PAIL’s weekly series, The Monday Snapshot. Please head over to meet our guest host of this week, Mrs. Gamgee! To join in, click on the link […]

  4. […] I posted this on my Monday the PAIL link wasn’t up! The Monday Snapshot – featuring Mrs Gamgee. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  5. […] week Mrs. Gamgee guest hosted The Monday Snapshot and shared snippets of story with us in the 5 Questions. Please stop by her place and say […]

