the monday snapshot – chon

This week we are pleased to feature Chon of Life Begins on the 4th edition of The Monday Snapshot.

And now, Chon in her own words…

The Monday Snapshot: Wonder Weeks are Not Wonderful
*
Chippie, Molly & I headed off on our first family getaway this week. We ventured up to the High Country in Victoria, a place where both Chippie and I had spent many fun holidays with our parents and with each other. In fact the High Country was the destination for our first romantic weekend. I took my good camera filled, with visions of taking lots of fabulous family happy snaps in such a picturesque location. I was so excited about our trip away!
*
But unfortunately a fantastic weekend was not to be.
*
Molly was v.i.l.e this weekend. Screamy McScreamerson with a bad attitude. She pretty much screamed from Monday to Wednesday at home. Then on Thursday when we left to go away to Friday afternoon we experienced a brief and welcomed lull. Then Saturday she yelled the entire day. The entire day. Turns out Molly was in a growth spurt week. Whoever coined the phrase Wonder Week was a sick bastard. Hell Week would be more appropriate. It also turned out when I decided in desperation to offer the other boob she actually becomes happy. Looks like mum was starving her. Brownie points to Mum {hangs head in shame}.
*
At least she was quiet Sunday.
*
It also rained all day Saturday and Sunday which pretty much defeated any great photo opportunities. But here’s one when she was not crying.
*
Check out the bags under my eyes. I look so deeeeelightful.
*

Just so you don’t think I am a bad mother she has always fed from one side only!!

I still love her though.

And there is always next time!

*****

Chon gives us some insight into the inner workings of her mind via the “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I have been blogging since May 2010 (OMG). It all started after some obsessive Googling on IVF treatments bought up a whole host of blogs and I started to read the individual stories and realized I had a story to tell as well. I was active on forums, but found blogging connected me with more like minded friends and it reunited me with a love of writing.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family.

Considered to have unexplained infertility then later dx with NK cells. We went through 6 IVF transfers with one miscarriage. I finally found success with a new clinic using IVF + intralipids  and Colorado treatment. My gorgeous daughter Molly arrived in July 2012 after an (un)fun posterior back labour and induction! Our little family is very happy.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Oh goodness – unique?  Hmmmm I have no problems laughing at myself and my incredible drawing talent – refer my pregnancy self portrait. I don’t think I have a special talent per se!!! 

4) One word to describe yourself:

Extroverted.

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

The very first website (blog) I really started to follow was Toni @ fertilely-challenged black sheep. That gal cracked my shit up. She now blogs at There’s cheese in my shoe and when she does still blog she still cracks me up. Adrift on a dandelion breeze is still TTC and has one daughter and one angel daughter but is a beautiful soul and incredibly generous. And lastly this lass is far from infertile but I just love her and she has a unique take on parenthood is Good Golly Miss Holly. Three kids very quickly leads to interesting situations!

*****

Please share your Monday Snapshot with us in the comments below and travel around to see everyone else’s. And of course, swing on over to Life Begins and introduce yourself to Chon!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. LOL, oh my gosh, so this is so not funny, but I hear ya on wonder weeks not being very “wondrous.” She is SOOO stinkin’ cute in that picture at least! Stella usually feeds on one side as well, but during wonder weeks, it definitely helps to offer both. Sorry you had to figure that out the hard way. 🙂

    Did you use the same clinic as me in CO? I had no idea! (though granted we didn’t have to go through everything you did)

    I think my Snapshot should be in the pingbacks below!

  2. Oh I’m sorry it wasn’t as enjoyable of a getaway as you hoped, and I have no idea who came up with the name wonder weeks! She sure looks wide-eyed there ready to party though!

    My contribution to this week’s snapshot can be found here, it was a great weekend meeting new blog friends!

    http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-monday-snapshot-blog-friends-edition.html

  3. Look at me, I’m featured 🙂

  4. Sorry the get away wasn’t as good as you had hoped…and hopefully you can get out and take fall pictures soon! I’m SOOO looking forward to that! Love the pic!

    Here’s mine for this week:http://fertiltyfrustration.blogspot.com/2012/10/monday-snapshot-milestone-edition.html

  5. Our get-away was a bit of a disaster this weekend too, until we met up with Steph! But – we’ll all forget, won’t we, and try again 😉

    Her eyes are gorgeous!

  6. She’s so beautiful! Meh, just “one of THOSE things”… if parenting isn’t a moving target, I don’t know what is! Here’s mine… http://threegeminisandasagittarius.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-monday-snapshot-windows-and-hallways.html

  7. Oh noooooooooos!!!! “Wonder Weeks” can bite my ass. The name I mean – I’m all for my children growing and developing and what not. I want to bite her face, in a good way, of course! 🙂

    Since my pingpack no-worky, here’s mine (with a video!!!): http://littlechickennugget.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/the-monday-snapshot-vol-15/

  8. Not sleeping sucks! Been there myself.

    Here’s my post for the week: http://rainsthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/monday-snapshot/

  9. Oh no, sorry it didn’t go as well as hoped…. but my goodness, she is a cutie!!! 🙂 Loved learning more about you. Sorry, I don’t have a snapshot this week… not loaded on the computer anyway and now I’m too tired and must get to my bed! 😛 Next week!

  10. The look on her face in that little hat. Oh, my. I definitely get a “strong personality” vibe from her!

Trackbacks

  1. […] light breeze! This is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. […] is part of a weekly feature over at PAIL called The Monday Snapshot. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  3. […] post is part of PAIL’s weekly series, The Monday Snapshot. Please head over to meet our guest host of this week, Chon! To join in, click on the link and add […]

  4. […] week Chon guest hosted The Monday Snapshot  and cracked us up (in empathy, of course!) with stories about her “Screamy […]

