featured post: “the infertility oscars” by holly

When I first realized that I was having trouble getting pregnant, I turned to our old frenemy Dr. Google. When it was confirmed that I had PCOS, I was not able to find a lot of reliable information on it relating to fertility, and it was then that I found RESOLVE.

Over the course of the next few years, I would turn to RESOLVE over and over for information on not only how to cope with my physical infertility, but for their tremendous amount of literature available for helping to family and friends to understand and be supportive of the infertility journey. I simply cannot say enough about the work RESOLVE does in terms of advocacy for the ALI community, from the personal to the national. This year, as a blogger, I openly participated in the NIAW “Don’t Ignore Infertility” challenge, and was happy to receive some acknowledgement from people who know me in real life (in addition to the tremendous support from fellow bloggers).

One such blogger is Holly from Ready To Be A Mom. This year, Holly was the recipient of RESOLVE’s Hope Award for Best Blog. I had recently found Holly through the listing of NIAW posts, and was thrilled when she won this award. Holly’s blog has helped to raise awareness for infertility along so many stages on the road and I am so pleased to have found her.

Holly recently attended RESOLVE’s Night of Hope in NYC to receive her award. I anxiously followed the night on Twitter, and when her post “The Infertility Oscars” went up the other day, I knew I had to share it.

This paragraph, describing the overwhelming emotions of being in a room full of IF advocates and professionals, speaks volumes:

I cried that night many times, but not during my speech. I cried during cocktails while Chad and I were speaking with Jennifer Ludden, NPR Correspondent and Marisa Peñaloza, NPR Producer about the powerful effects of positive journalism covering infertility. I cried during the awards watching the Pampers “Every Little Miracle” ad. (Click and keep a dry eye, I dare you) I cried during dessert speaking with fertility clinic nurses and hearing just how deeply they cared about the work they do and their patients. I teared up during speeches, hugs and in the middle of conversations. It was amazing to be in a room full of people that were simultaneously so professional yet so equally emotional and passionate. I remember so many incredible discussions and heartfelt moments from the night, but I don’t have a clue what happened during my speech.

Now, go and watch Holly’s speech and try not to feel the same way about her. (Also, you will not make it through the Pamper’s ad. You will not!)

We are all intimately aware of the power of blogging in all its many forms. Some of your blogs have helped to make me feel like a person, a real person, in ways that you can never know. In ways that a comment can never express. If there is one thing I take away from Holly’s speech, from her blog, from her journey it is this: Keep writing, keep blogging, keep talking. It matters.

I encourage you to go over to Holly’s place and keep talking with her. I am glad I started.

*****

Holly in her own words: Ever since I was a little girl I knew that in addition to my ever changing career goals, what I most wanted to be when I grew up was a mom. I married the future father of my children in March 2007 and started trying to conceive shortly after. Our 1st cycle of IVF 3 years later finally brought us a positive pregnancy test, but sadly at 7 weeks we learned it was not viable. Luckily, we were later able to complete a frozen embryo transfer which resulted in a successful pregnancy and my amazing miracle daughter. Now I wake up every day, ready to be her mom!

Trackbacks

  1. […] featured a post by Holly of Ready to Be a Mom entitled “The Infertility Oscars,” where Holly spoke about the experience of receiving the Hope Award for Best Blog from […]

  2. […] The Infertility Oscars by Holly (infertility, advocacy) […]

  3. […] public discussions of the lasting emotional impact of infertility and loss. You may recall that we featured Holly from Ready To Be A Mom here when she won the Hope Award for Best Blog from RESOLVE following […]

