the monday snapshot – fiona

This week, Fiona is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the 7th edition of The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up hereI just had to make the picture  huge – check out cute little Alidia!!! Take it away, Fiona!

*****

Hi,

Here is my photo and blurb for Monday Snap Shot. Thanks so much for letting me be a part of it! 🙂
“It has been a long, hot summer here in the Dominican Republic and it felt like no end was in sight… until yesterday when we finally got a nice, cool, rainy day! It was such a pleasant change and I was excited to finally get Alidia into some of her cute, warmer clothes which she almost never gets to wear. Here she is looking out at the rain, probably wondering “What the heck is that stuff?!” since it has been so dry here lately. Another great thing about the rain is that it might just mean we will start having water (in our taps) more often as it currently gets turned off from 9:00am to 4:00pm everyday!”
Thanks again,
Fiona

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Fiona with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I have been blogging for about 6 months. However, I have been reading many of your amazing blogs for about 2 years now which I started doing during our struggles with TTC. I got started blogging myself when I decided I actually wanted to be a part of the community myself instead of just an outsider looking in. So glad I did so!

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I am married to my amazing husband and we now have a 7 1/2 month old daughter. We were TTC for 18 months before getting pregnant on our second cycle using Clomid and acupuncture (as well as a crazy Dominican pregnancy potion from the old lady who lives across the road from us!!). We feel so lucky to have our amazing little girl in our lives!! Hoping for #2 sometime in the next year or two. We’ll see what happens!

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I guess we are a bit unique in that my husband, daughter and I now live in the Dominican Republic where we run a non-profit school and summer camp program. My daughter was actually born in the Dominican Republic, which was a bit of a scary experience as it is still a 3rd world country, but we were very lucky with how smoothly it all went!

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Organized

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

This is a really tough one because I have many many blogs that I love reading so much!! If you check out the blogroll on my blog, you can find all of those. I enjoy them because they make me feel not so alone in this crazy world and I can relate to much of what they are going through and write about. Since I feel I should put at least one site down, I’ll mention ‘crappy pictures‘ because she seriously gets me laughing with every post! 🙂

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Fiona at Life Amongst the Palm Trees!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Oh, I LOVE babies in jeans! Just so adorable! And I love little, curious Alidia!Sofia has been absolutely fascinated by rain this fall. The rainy season here is mid-late fall so we’re just now getting into it and a year ago she wasn’t old enough to really realize what was going on. Now when it rains she stands at the patio door just watching. 🙂

    I really like Fiona’s blog because she has such a unique perspective with living in the DR! Glad to see her highlighted here!

    And, finally, here’s my snapshot post (I always get such a jump on it!): http://nobabyruth.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/monday-snapshot-my-little-copy-cat/

  2. I love that picture…the pose and the lushness of the background…Beautiful.

    Here is my link for this Monday: http://polantworld.blogspot.com/2012/10/monday-snap-shot-pumpkin-time.html

  3. The colors in your pictures are amazing! It’s been so dry here as well. Glad to see you featured on here, Fiona!

    Here is my contribution this week: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-monday-snapshot-memories-edition.html

  4. Love starting my Monday off with a little Alidia! 😀

    Here’s my post, featuring yet another PAIL blogger! All these meet-ups are fun! http://wp.me/p2rGDC-1e8

  5. oooh, I am excited to read about your time in the DR! My DH and I (he’s a pastor) have wanted to work abroad in a ministry or volunteer setting for some time, but it’s hard to know where to start. Can’t wait to read about your experiences! Here’s my entry:
    http://metholicblog.com/2012/10/22/monday-morning-snapshot-ol-blue-eyes/

  6. YAY! Love you Fiona. 🙂 Fun to see you featured here! I’ll be hoping that you get some more water headed your way!!

  7. I think the cute little jeans is what I love most about this pic!!!

  8. And perhaps that Fiona is Canadian as well 😉

  9. That picture is precious….I love it…

    Here is my post for the week:
    http://mommyhoodafterfertilityfrustration.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/snapshot-monda…summer-edition/

  10. Yay! So cute! It hasn’t rained much here either so my girls will STARE at it too. It’s been fun getting to know you and Alidia more over the past couple months! 🙂

    Here’s my Snapshot this week… http://threegeminisandasagittarius.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-monday-snapshot-little-pumpkins.html

  11. Very excited to see one of my favourites (yay Canadians!) on TMS! Fiona and I discovered last week that we pretty much missed living in literally the same building by a few short years at university. Small world folks! And I about DIED at the little heart back pockets. Gah!

  12. Aww thank you all for your sweet comments!!!! 🙂 You made my day! Love all of your Monday Snapshots as well!

  13. I love her back pocket!!

    Here’s mine for the week: http://emmainmommyland.com/2012/10/23/the-monday-snapshot/

Trackbacks

  1. […] today’s Monday Snapshot, we’re taking a look at one of my favorite […]

  2. […] This post is a part of PAIL‘s The Monday Snapshot series. To see more Monday Snapshots from other PAIL bloggers, click here! […]

  3. […] is my entry for PAIL’s Monday Morning Snapshot. Click here to see all the other adorable […]

  4. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join […]

  5. […] part of PAIL’s weekly series, The Monday Snapshot. Please head over to meet our guest host of this week (and a fellow Canuck!), Fiona! To join in, […]

  6. […] Traathy featured Fiona and sweet little Alidia in this week’s Monday Snapshot. […]

