the monday snapshot – mandski

This week, Mandski of Full Bed is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the 10th edition of The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

Mira seems to have her first bad illness. It was just a cold with a runny nose through the weekend, but overnight her temperature shot up. Thanks to Tylenol and TLC, she finally fell asleep at 7 am, just in time for me to email my boss to tell him I can’t come in. My husband was already planning to be at home with her, but sometimes a baby just needs her mama.

Now, get to know a little more about Mandski with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started my blog recently, in January of this year. I’d been reading infertility and loss blogs for awhile, but didn’t have a blog of my own. After Mira arrived, I felt like I really needed an outlet and a community, so I started my own blog and was lucky enough to do so just before PAIL got going.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

My husband and I started TTC in July 2009. We realized there was a problem very quickly, but it took awhile to identify and treat my main medical issues (Hashimoto’s and PCOS). After the problems were identified, we were lucky enough to be able to conceive with the help of medications. I miscarried in November 2010 and we conceived Mira in February 2011. She was born in November 2011, and will probably be our only child. My husband and I had dramatically different ideas of the lengths we wanted to go to have a child, which was a major emotional issue for me and our marriage, but we’re both happy to be a family of three.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Something that has really shaped my life is the loss of my brother. Sadly, this isn’t unique. Having a baby and being in school was also something unusual in my story, though that chapter of my life is now complete. Probably the only reasonably unique thing about me is that I’ve experienced, and have family who are in, drastically different economic circumstances.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Determined

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

This is terrible, but I love STFU, Parents. It’s always good for a laugh.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Mandski at Full Bed!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. That is such a beautiful picture of Mira, sick or not! How sad that she isn’t feeling well – we’ve had the exact same night over here. She’s finally sleeping now (at 6am), but we’ll see for how long. Poor, sick babies. 😦

  2. Poor baby girl! (but look at those lashes!) Nothing sadder than a sick baby. 😦 I jokingly complain to my mom that my girls love my husband more than me and she said “Who do they go to when they don’t feel well? Or get hurt? Or are scared? Sometimes they just need their momma.” And it is SO TRUE. ❤ Hope she feels better soon!

  3. Aww…poor Miri! So cute, despite being sick. Hope she is on the mend quickly!

    Here is my contribution:
    http://dreamingofpinkandblue.blogspot.com/2012/11/the-monday-snapshot-fuzzy-hat-edition.html

  4. Good lord, Mira is a beautiful child! I am sorry she’s sick! That both sucks and blows! Glad to see your new space featured here 🙂

  5. Sick babies are sad :(, but so SO snuggly…we’re just getting over the crud here and there are fewer snuggles….I hope Mira is feeling better sooner rather than later….And I agree those eyelashes are to die for!!!

  6. Look at your little angel! She is so pretty 🙂 I hope she’s feeling better soon!

  7. sweet baby, hope she feels better! Here’s my post: http://metholicblog.com/2012/11/12/family/

  8. Hi Mandski 🙂 I love sleepy baby pictures. I hope your little one feels better soon!

    http://emmainmommyland.com/2012/11/12/monday-snapshot-2/

  9. Nice to meet you Mandski! I hope your little one feels better soon. She’s adorable, even if she isn’t feeling well 🙂

    Here’s mine:
    http://emmainmommyland.com/2012/11/12/monday-snapshot-2/

  10. You have to feel bad for them when they’re sick, but what a beautiful photo if her…

    We have a similar photo this week: http://twopinktulips.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/the-monday-snapshot-baby-hangover-edition/

  11. So sad your little one is sick, here’s hoping she bounces back fast!

    http://traditionallynontraditional.blogspot.com/2012/11/the-monday-snapshot-slumber-or-lumber.html

  12. Aww poor baby girl! 😦 Hope she is feeling much better today thanks to lots of mama snuggles… which you are right, sometimes they do just need their mama! 🙂 Great to see you featured!

    Here is mine for this week… http://www.palmtreemama.blogspot.com/2012/11/monday-snapshot-teeth.html

  13. Aww, poor thing:( Hope she is back up and at ‘um tomorrow morning!
    Here’s our post for the week: http://pailbloggers.com/2012/11/12/the-monday-snapshot-mandski/

  14. It’s so hard when they’re sick… you just want to make it all better. Hoping she’s feeling better soon!

    Here’s my snapshot… http://missusgamgee.blogspot.ca/2012/11/monday-snapshot-goin-shoppin.html

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join […]

  2. […] a weirdo),  but now I can’t wait for the next one….This is my contribution to PAIL’s Monday Snapshot…hop on over and check out everyone else’s Monday […]

  3. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly series, The Monday Snapshot. Head on over to meet this week’s host Mandski and add your post to the […]

  4. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join […]

  5. […] Part of the Monday Snapshot on PAIL! […]

  6. […] Josey featured Mandski of Full Bed with a photo of her adorable (even while sick) daughter, Mira on The Monday Snapshot. […]

  7. […] Monday, I was featured over at PAIL’s Monday Snapshot. If you haven’t already checked them out, or if you don’t participate in the Monday […]

  8. […] Chicago, Mira was infected by the rapidly spreading toddler zombie virus a weeks and a half ago. She was sick with a potent cold all of last week, as were The Baba and I. The Baba took her to the doctor twice, […]

