the monday snapshot – ashley

This week, Ashley of Traditionally Nontraditional is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the 11th edition of The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

Morning All!

I am so happy to be participating in The Monday Snapshot, even if I am coming off a crazy high of percocets and anesthesia!

I had my gallbladder out on Friday via lap. It was a big build up of emotions and fear that I would not come through (strange, I know). But I did just well and Gary the Gallbladder came out with out an issue. But, there is always a but with me, they did find a spot on my liver! Seriously, it it isn’t one thing it is another! We don’t know much about the spot and have to wait six weeks till I heal to get a better idea of what is going on there. Such is the life of an infertile, waiting waiting waiting!

Anyways, here is my awesome recovery team. The Hubbs and Jackson are excellent caregivers, especially during commercial breaks of the Browns game. They are lucky they are both cute because they would not make it as nurses.

“Dad, do you think the Browns can pull this one out, it’s are real nail bitter?”

I am hoping to make a quick recovery because I hate not being able to life my child. However, once I kicked the percocets on Saturday, I have felt so much better. Let this be a life lesson to everyone, NO Blogging, Texting, Emailing, Phoning, or engaging in any types of conversations while on pain meds!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Hugs and Loves~

Ashley

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Ashley with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I have been blogging for over a year and a half. I started blogging as an outlet for my troubles TTC and then my diagnosis with Infertility.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

My husband and I TTC in 2009, shortly after we bought our first home. With a diagnosis with unexplained infertility, I started oral treatments. With no success, I tried one round of injections and was blessed with a healthy baby boy in April 2012!

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I work in foster care adoptions and help waiting children find their forever families everyday. My experience in the work force has helped me encourage, educate, and even help those who have decided to expand their families via foster care adoption as opposed to continue their struggles with infertility. I don’t have much to offer but I do have a working knowledge of the foster are system.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Nontraditional

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

The Pioneer Woman! Yes I know it’s not related to ALI, but in the moment when it all became too much for me to take, I would hope on PDub’s site and find a new recipe, picture tutorial, or place to shop.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Ashley at Traditionally Nontraditional !

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Gosh, any surgery is definitely scary so I am glad it went well and wish you a very speedy recovery. Hehe, looks like your two boys are enjoying the game. At least they were able to keep eachother company while you needed the rest.

    Love Pioneer Woman too!!

    My Monday Snapshot post is up http://palmtreemama.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/monday-snapshot-restaurant-edition/

  2. What a cute little guy! Recovering from surgery can’t be easy, but having that cute face to look at must help!

  3. Yah, no surgery is good surgery! 😦 I hope they find the spot on the liver is nothing too. Not fun! Love the looks of concentration on those faces on your boys! 😉
    Here’s mine this week: http://threegeminisandasagittarius.blogspot.com/2012/11/the-monday-snapshot-welcome-to.html

  4. I hope your recovery goes smoothly!! Your boys do look like they have a pretty good caregiver look – especially while watching tv 😉

    My pics are here: http://theyalllived.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/snap/

  5. Love the pic! And I’m with you on the no outside communication while on pain meds…I did work stuff once while on percoset…not good.

    Here’s my contribution to the Monday Snapshot: http://www.buckupbuttercup.net/buck-up-buttercup/2012/11/19/monday-snapshot-hows-my-crawling.html

  6. Here’s my Monday Snapshot http://missusgamgee.blogspot.ca/2012/11/monday-snapshot-smooches-from-ginny.html

    Ashley… I hope your recovery is swift and easy! No surgery is fun.

  7. What a great picture of your ‘recovery team’ – even if they wouldn’t make it as nurses! Hope you have a speedy recovery!

    Here is my contribution: http://dreamingofpinkandblue.blogspot.com/2012/11/monday-snapshot-peek-boo-edition.html

  8. I love PDub as well. 🙂
    Glad to hear the surgery went pretty smoothly at least!

  9. For real? Your gallbladder? Yowsa woman! Hope you feel back up to snuff soon! 🙂

    Apparently I’m they only person on the internet who had never heard of Pioneer Woman…thanks for the heads up!

  10. Impressive posting on meds! Hope it wasn’t a long game so your standard of care improved. May your recovery involve a good book, a DVD boxed set, chocolate, and no liver issues. My first ever Monday snapshot post on our pre Xmas Xmas is here:
    http://didiforget.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/the-monday-snapshot-elf-yourself/

  11. Under the wire!!! http://wp.me/p2rGDC-1gg

  12. Ashley– So sorry about the gall bladder, ouch! Hope your recovery continues smoothly and your liver behaves.

    You and I have almost the same TTC story! Unexplained IF (sort of, they’re calling mine related to “probable PCOS” but I never got any hard and fast dx), no luck with a few rounds of Clomid, first round of injectables worked!

  13. Nice to meet a new blogger!

Trackbacks

  1. […] These are part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot… go on over and check out all the others! […]

  2. […] is my contribution to the PAIL Monday Snapshot. Hop on over and check out who’s featured this week and watch for […]

  3. […] This is part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot… go on over and check out all the others! […]

  4. […] couldn’t pick just one picture so here’s a few of my […]

  5. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly series, The Monday Snapshot. Head on over to meet this week’s host, Ashley @ Traditionally Nontraditional and add your post […]

  6. […] This post is part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot! […]

  7. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in and check out Ashley this […]

  8. […] This post is part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot series. To see more Monday Snapshots, click here! […]

  9. […] Check out the other PAIL Monday Snapshots! […]

  10. […] We featured Ashley of Traditionally Nontraditional with a photo of her “nurses” while she recovers from surgery on The Monday Snapshot. […]

  11. […] Ashley @ Traditionally Nontraditional […]

