december 2012 – monthly theme post – balancing life, work, and parenthood

FYI, this month’s theme post is our first ever reader submitted topic! If you have a great idea for a Monthly Theme Post topic, Featured Post, or News Item for us to discuss, we would love to hear from you as well!

*****

In late October, PAIL Bloggers received an email from S of Misconceptions about Conception. She wrote:

I would love to read a post (and the comments that would follow) about how we all cope with the stressors and feelings of being not-quite-enough that come with new(ish) parenthood.

We sent her a few links from our archives, but nothing quite fit the bill…

I’m thinking more of adjustment to parenthood past the immediate postpartum period. I feel like a lot gets written about the first few months after the baby is born, but I rarely read any practical advice for juggling work and a baby once the baby is 9 months old, or a year old, or 2. . . or realistic ways for managing the stress that comes with trying to fulfill multiple roles. It seems that [the posts we sent her to review], like most I’ve read, are aimed more at that early postpartum period. I was hoping to maybe see a post from a working mom with a child over 6 months old and her (and others’) thoughts on doing it all.

So what do you think? Have you figured out how to “do it all?” SAHM/WAHM/WOHM (and Dads!) are all encouraged to participate!

Suggested Writing Prompts:

  • Are you working outside the home with little one(s) at home? How do you balance the two? Does your partner work outside the home as well?
  • Did you start working outside the home postpartum and decide it wasn’t for you?
  • What factored into your decision to stay home, work from home, or work outside the home?
  • Did you get that baby in your arms and never go back? How do you balance your responsibilities at home when you’re on call 24/7?
  • Did you start out staying at home and decide you needed/wanted to go back? How did you handle those emotions?
  • How did you find the balance that works for you while being a SAHM/WAHM/WOHM?

Feel free to write using the prompts above or take any tangent you would like! If you have already written a post on this topic, feel free to submit that as well. Entries for the link up are due by next Wednesday, December 19th at midnight CST.  The full list of links will be posted on Thursday, December 20th. Please fill out the form below to submit your post.

As always, if you do not have a blog of your own, feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments of this post and we will link to your comment in the final list that goes up next Thursday. Thank you!

Comments

  1. wow, this post couldn’t come at a more appropriate time as I embark on this!

  2. Definitely doing this and looking forward to reading others!

  3. Does the form work? I tried to submit and it gave me a weird message. I like this topic and had to respond right away!

    • I got one submission so far with the form, but it wasn’t from you. Maybe try again? If that doesn’t work, you can email me directly too.

  4. I can’t wait to read everyone’s posts, this is so timely for me. I have been back to work almost 2 months now- my son 13 months (we are in Canada with 1 year maternity leave). I work part-time, 4 days a week. My husband works full time shift work. The first couple weeks were really overwhelming, I felt like there was no balance. I missed my son like crazy. He loves his daycare though and that is probably the biggest factor in making this transition as smooth as possible. Keeping my son’s routine on track and making him healthy meals/snacks are important to me and I was happy I was able to keep up with those things, but I felt like I was failing at everything else- my own health and fitness, housework, being a good friend, being a good wife. I realized finding balance wasn’t going to happen overnight, it was going to be a work in progress and it was going to take a lot of effort.

    Now, 2 months in, things have gotten easier. I feel like I spend a ridiculous amount of time making lists, meal plans, schedules, etc. but that’s what it takes for our life to flow smoothly- a LOT of planning. I am learning to use my time more efficiently than ever before. I am still finding it hard to fit in a consistent exercise routine, since my husband’s shift work makes it harder to commit to specific time slots. My house isn’t as tidy as I’d like it to be. I know that when I’m overwhelmed I can be not very nice to my husband. But I am trying my best and trying to cut myself some slack.

    Working part-time is the best fit for me so far. I honestly do not know how full-time working moms make it all work, they are amazing. I don’t think I could be the mom I want to be if I was a full-time SAHM either. I could see myself being impatient and likely resenting my husband.

    Going back to work has been a big change and I am still working at finding balance, but one day at time things are getting easier and I am happy.(But I am definitely looking forward to time off over the holidays and getting to spend more time with my little family!)

Trackbacks

  1. […] month’s PAIL theme topic comes at a good time. While I was lying in bed reading last night, I was feeling guilty that my […]

  2. […] This post forms part of PAILs monthly theme posts. For more information and list of bloggers participating look here. […]

  3. […] unveiled the December Monthly Theme Post topic – balancing life, work, and parenthood. Submissions are due by Wednesday at midnight – we’d love to hear how you are working […]

  4. […] This post brought to you by PAIL. See others’ thoughts on working outside the home or not, life, and balance in parenthood here. […]

  5. […] PAIL Monthly Theme post topic for December is about balancing life, work, and parenthood. Finding the right balance to make sure you’re taking care of all of those […]

  6. […] monthly theme posts, on the topic of “balancing life, work, and parenthood.” Click on over to read how others do (or don’t do?) it […]

  7. […] December 2012 Theme: Balancing Work, Life, and Parenthood […]

  8. […] PAIL’s December monthly theme post is on ‘doing it all.’ […]

  9. […] wrote this post as a PAIL’s monthly theme post. While part of “balancing” for me means less time blogging, I’ve often looked to […]

  10. […] This post is part of PAIL‘s Monthly Theme Post for December: “Balancing Life, Work and Parenthood.” […]

  11. […] month’s PAIL theme post is on balancing life. When I originally read the theme, I wondered about my plates in the air. It […]

  12. […] is the list of contributors to the December Monthly Theme post. Thanks so much to everyone who participated – there truly is no one “right way” […]

  13. […] post was submitted for PAIL’s monthly theme post for December 2012: Balancing Life, Work, and Motherhood. Read more submissions […]

  14. […] up on my blogs while feverishly trying to finish my son’s Christmas stocking. I read the PAIL monthly theme and decided I had to respond because doing it all with a growing baby is what I struggle with all […]

