the monday snapshot – Maggie

Maggie from iMags is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

Good morning!

Happy last Monday of the year!  Happy New Year, and I hope the Holidays were full of peace and joy for everyone!
I took this picture of Sophie and Alex last week at Starbuck’s after an amazing concert we went to with my Dad and Step-mom to see the Golden Dragon Acrobats. The kids enjoyed hot chocolates while the grown-ups sipped coffee.
This past year was a rough one for me regarding losses: I lost no less than 7 friends to various catastrophes, illness, and suicide. I also lost my beloved Grandmother.
The reason I love this picture so much, is that it captures a moment of pure JOY: something I really need more of these days.
Something we all, I’m sure, could use more of in our lives.
I wish you all JOY in abundance in the New Year!

IMG_0913sm

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Maggie with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I have been blogging for exactly 15 days [as of the day she submitted this]. I got started in late October, having been inspired by a friend’s blog, and by using a comment post that I left on it. I am trying to write my story in a book, but in the interim, a blog seems more accessible and fits in with my crazy schedule better.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I went through multiple ways of TTC. My husband and I did many rounds of IUI, then started doing IVF about two years after we got married. We had done 4 cycles of IVF, with only one pregnancy which ended in miscarriage. Our Niece and her husband offered to be gestational carriers for us, for our 5th cycle and we now have 6 year old twins. We did one final round of IVF, which failed, two years ago.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I realize now, perhaps I’m not exactly unique in the blogging world. There seem to be many “mommy” bloggers out there, as well as “pregnancy/ loss/ infertility” bloggers to boot. I think, though that my story (which is actually really long and complicated, and joyous in the end), is unique. Because we used a gestational carrier 6 1/2 years ago when it wasn’t the “new norm,” because I had already gone through so many failed IVF’s, because we switched doctors mid-stream for a multitude of ugly reasons, because I had to formally adopt my own children after they were born, because our niece didn’t take a penny of payment for what she felt was a “karmic debt” to me to carry our twins, because I have gone on to become a birth Doula, because I am still infertile but also a mommy, the list goes on.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Determinded

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

I love Keiko Zoll’s blog The infertility Voice. I keep telling people to read it. I also really love Heather Armstrong’s blog, Dooce. Her voice is so similar to mine, and her experiences as a mom are so familiar- but she writes about them with such raw humor – I love her perspective. I can’t always stomache the more “serious” stuff… I’m trying to find a place of lightness and humor to tell my own story, so this one helps keep it all in perspective for me.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit  Maggie at iMags.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. And Happy New Year to you and your adorable family!
    Our Monday Snapshot is in the pingbacks and here: http://leviandangela.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/the-monday-snapshot-cabin-fever-edition/

  2. Hi Maggie! Your kids are adorable 🙂 Here is my snapshot… Happy New Year everyone!
    http://wp.me/p2PsQx-9g

  3. I think it’s so cool (in an amazing, wonderful, what a great thing to offer kind of way) that you were able to use a gestational carrier. While we were in the midst of IF (and well before we knew if we’d need anything like that), I had two well meaning fertile friends offer to be our gestational carrier if need be. It’s amazing that people would do that for someone!

    I love the joy in that pic for sure. 🙂

    • Thank you- in the past 5 years or so, I’ve had numerous other amazing friends say that they would also carry for me, should we choose to do it again- including my neighbor! Women amaze me. 🙂

  4. Capturing pure joy like that is nearly impossible, and yet you did it, brining smiles to everyone who sees this picture….

    An extraordinary story for 2 extraordinary children….would love the long drawn out story. I love reading how people achieved their family. My BFF offered to be my gestational carrier should we need one. She and her husband spent months discussing it and decided it was right for all of us. My first IVF worked so we didn’t end up going that route, but knowing my BFF would do that for me and my family is one of the most heart warming ideas ever. I love these kinds of stories.

    My contribution is in the trackbacks below.

  5. So nice to meet you Maggie!! 🙂 Love the photo of your two adorable twins. What an interesting story you had. That is so awesome of your niece to do that for you. Some people truly rock.

    Here is my snapshot for today! http://palmtreemama.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/monday-snapshot-donkey-riding/

  6. What a great story! Love these Monday Snapshots!
    Don’t know how to get mine to show up in the pingback thingy but here it is: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2012/12/monday-snapshot-first-christmas.html

  7. Hoping that the coming year brings you and your family more joy than you know what to do with. 🙂 Lovely pic!

    Here’s my snapshot… http://missusgamgee.blogspot.ca/2012/12/monday-snapshot-toddler-drama.html#comment-form

  8. Wow – what a gift from your niece and her husband!

    Great photo of a wonderful memory for your family!

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in and learn a little more about Maggie this […]

  2. […] is my contribution for PAIL’s Monday Snapshot. Hop on over to check out who’s featured this week and if you haven’t signed up for […]

  3. […] Now go check out the other Monday Snapshots on PAIL! […]

  4. […] time for another Monday Snapshot, hosted by PAIL.  I went through my camera roll on my phone and could find nothing – […]

  5. […] kick of 2013 with the last Monday Snapshot of 2012, Traathy introduced us to Maggie from iMags and a hilarious photo of her adorable twins, […]

