the monday snapshot – josey

This week, Josey of My Cheap Version of Therapy (and one of the PAIL contributors!) is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

****

Hi Everyone!

On Saturday night we had some friends over to watch the football game (my poor Vikings did not play well *sigh*), and thanks to the game Cards Against Humanity, it turned into an all night event of drinking and laughing until 2am with seven of our friends while the babies slept upstairs. Yep, you read that right, 2am. Eek! We haven’t stayed up drinking that late in a LONG time, but it was SO much fun! At any rate, on Sunday we were exhausted and hungover, so after a 2.5 hour family nap, we decided to go to the local hot springs to rejuvenate. Stella loves the water so much, and it was great to get out of the house for a bit. There is nothing better than hanging out with these two cuties. 🙂

PS – I paid $25 for that game a month ago (it was a birthday gift for Charlie), and we noticed around Christmas that it was selling for $100 on Amazon! I’m not sure why it’s so expensive right now, but hopefully it goes back down, because I highly recommend it for parties. We have literally laughed until we cried every time we have played it!

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Josey with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

Just over three years – since November 2009. I can’t believe it’s been that long! I started out reading blogs because of an article that mentioned Dooce.com. I read all of her archives that week while I was at work, and I was hooked! I then started a family blog in June 2009 that I wrote in intermittently, but it wasn’t until I started My Cheap Version of Therapy as a weight loss blog in November ’09 that I got more consistent about blogging. Over time, that space turned into more of an IF blog, and now…well, I blog about anything I feel like!

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

TTC for nearly two years – diagnosed with ʺpossible lean PCOSʺ and unexplained IF. Yay. After lots of Eastern treatments, we finally made the leap to an RE (the closest one is 6 hours away) and were lucky enough to get pregnant on our first Clomid+injectibles IUI cycle. Fun fact – my husband was working on a oil rig in ND at the time of the IUI, so he was out of state when our daughter was conceived in Denver. 🙂 Stella was born 12/08/11 at 38w gestation, and she is the best thing that has ever happened to us.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Hm…I don’t know if I’m really unique in any way. I guess I just try to blog really honestly about a variety of things in my life, be it about health & fitness, traveling, relationships with family, or drinking with my friends. WYSIWYG!

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Real

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

Dooce! Heather was the first blogger I ever read, and it was because of her that I got involved in the Dooce Community and then realized that there was a whole world of people out there blogging about their lives. She has been through so much in the past four years that I have followed her – she is an inspiration to me, and I love her writing and photography style.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Josey at My Cheap Version of Therapy!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Stella is just gorgeous! No hot springs for us in sweltering heat, but it must have been a weekend for swimming! Our swim is here :
    http://didiforget.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/the-monday-snapshot-welcome-to-summer-jman/

  2. Cute picture! Sounds like an awesome weekend, minus the hangover. A friend at work originally got me into blogging, but Dooce was one of the first “real” blogs I followed too!

  3. Of course I’m excited to see Josey featured this week… as she was one of the first blogs I started reading (and way later, following once I figured it all out) when I was TTC… and I believe my very first follower (or close to it) when I later started my own blog!! 🙂 Love this photo! Nothing like that love between Daddy and daughter and it just jumps out in this photo. Love!

    My Monday Snapshot is up too at http://palmtreemama.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/monday-snapshot-toilets-and-dolls-edition/

  4. Ha! Seeing Josey here this morning (Hi Jos!) reminds me that *I* STILL have not signed up! I am awesome at my job. 🙂

  5. You can print your own Cards Against Humanity game too, for free (plus whatever it costs you to print it and store it) or order it for $25 directly from them. Amazing game! And how cute swimming!

  6. Oh, that looks so refreshing!

    Check out my little monkey here: http://violettamargarita.blogspot.com/2013/01/monday-snapshot-sock-monkey-edition.html?m=1

  7. Ahhhh…hot springs…I never thought about taking our little ones but SUCH a good idea…we are getting cabin fever so bad here…so cold outside right now…
    Here’s what Luke’s been up to: 🙂
    http://www.buckupbuttercup.net/buck-up-buttercup/2013/1/7/monday-snapshot-i-should-have-seen-this-coming-edition.html

  8. Ohh, I am sooo jealous of your hot springs! How awesome!

  9. I’ve always wanted to go to a hot springs. I am so jealous of where you live. The beautiful scenery and the hot springs and the snow!

    Great picture! The smile on Stella’s face says it all!

    My submission is in the trackbacks below!

  10. Reblogged this on My Cheap Version of Therapy and commented:

    It’s my turn to be featured on The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Check it out! 🙂

  11. levifishman says:

    Great photo! That looks so relaxing. I want to go to there 🙂

    Our Monday Snapshot is up, too:
    http://leviandangela.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/monday-snapshot-shootin-some-b-ball-outside-of-the-school/

  12. Love getting to know everyone a little better in these Monday Snapshots! here’s mine: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/01/monday-snapshot-playtime.html

  13. This looks so refreshing and relaxing! hooray for a good weekend 🙂

  14. Great pic and memories being made! Gotta check out that game, sounds like a great weekend!
    Our snapshot is at http://macandpccache.blogspot.com/2013/01/monday-snapshot-staying-warm.html

  15. Heh…I saw the pic and was like, what?! They’re at a pool? Isn’t it like, 20 degrees there?! GENIUS. 😉 Adorable, love daddy/daughter shots!

  16. Delicious little baby toes! So jealous of you guys in the water! Hot springs, man… we do not have that around here, lol.

    My post: http://twopinktulips.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/the-monday-snapshot-family-ties-edition/

  17. What a cool photo – looks like summer up front but with snow in the background! Isn’t it cold when you get out?

    Sounds like you had a great time this past weekend!

  18. Such a cutie!! Is that the hot springs in NM? Not too far from us either…
    I also began my journey into the world of blogging via Dooce! Heather is so funny- and also so real. She has quite a following! You went to Denver for your RE- let me guess, Schoolcraft? I had my life- changing turn of (IF) events all due to a phone consult I had with him.
    Small world…

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly series, “The Monday Snapshot.” Head on over to meet this week’s host (and one of my partners in crime) Josey @ My […]

  2. […] This post is a contribution to PAIL’s Monday Snapshot! […]

  3. […] The Monday Snapshot is hosted by PAIL! Check it out here! […]

  4. […] is part of PAIL‘s Monday Snapshot. Hop on over there to check out who’s featured this […]

  5. […] is my contribution to The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL Bloggers.  Go and check it […]

  6. […] And now the Monday snapshot! […]

  7. […] started off the week by featuring our very own PAIL Bloggers contributor, Josey, in The Monday Snapshot. Check out her husband and baby enjoying some time in the hot springs, and make sure to peruse […]

