the monday snapshot – SRB

This week, SRB of Little Chicken Nuggets (and one of the PAIL contributors!) is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

REMINDER: January Theme Posts (“Where Do Babies Come From?“) are due TONIGHT at midnight! 🙂

****

Finally! It’s my turn! This is one of my favourite features at PAIL – a little pick-me-up made of TEH CUTE on a Monday. When T-dog (Traathy, can I call you T-dog?) contacted me for my picture and blurb, she requested a belly shot of TBD. I thought about it, but then I was like “Maaaaaaan…. then I have to put on pants and stuff…” so instead, you will be forced to check out HGB, Pizza Chef Extraordinaire!

"And his mouth was made of pizza! Pizza! Pizza!"

“And his mouth was made of pizza! Pizza! Pizza!”

This learning tower is the BOMB, y’all. He always want to help, see, and cook. Usually we just let him “stir” random ingredients in his little suction cup bowl, but on Saturday we set him up to make his own mini-pizza! SUCCESS! After thoroughly tasting the sauce, he opted for toppings of “brocc!” and “pepp!” and then HE ATE IT.  I am consistently amazed at the things he can do, especially when I give him the chance to try something himself. Mind blowing.

*****

Now, get to know a little more about SRB with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started blogging in July 2011, shortly after my son HGB was born. I had quit FB and wanted a place to share photos and stories of him with a few friends and family. I had been lurking ALI blogs for about 2 years though, slowly starting commenting, and then finally adding my URL to the comment form. Shortly thereafter, I slowly started opening up about my own journey. My blog is now a completely different place!

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I began to suspect a problem in 2006 when I went off BCPs and AF didn’t show for a year. PCOS was confirmed in 2008. Two miscarriages later we had HGB, and now a magical, surprise #2 is due Feb. 2013. Crazy times.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Before becoming a SAHM I worked in a professional capacity within the disease state of IF, so I have read (and written) a LOT of material on the subject. Oh, I will find you the information you are looking for! I have *thoughts* on this study or that one. 🙂

4) One word to describe yourself:

EMOTIONAL

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

Many of my faves have already been mentioned by others, so I am going to go with one I get made fun of for: Lainey Gossip. There! I admit it! I secretly read celebrity gossip! What I like about Lainey though, is she pulls back the curtain so you can see The Wizard at work. Even if I don’t know who half of the people are anymore, it is still endlessly fascinating.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit SRB at Little Chicken Nuggets!!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on little chicken nuggets and commented:
    FAMOUS Y’ALL!

  2. Whoa! You are right… this IS da bomb!!! How crazy is it that HGB is up there making his own pizzas?!!? He is such a little man!

    There wouldn’t be EMOTIONS without an EMOTIONAL you 🙂 We love you for all that you are and I’m so glad I found you in this world… and that you’re featured here today. Woo wooo!

  3. Too cute! I need to get one of those contraptions…when I cook I end up with one or the other of the twins in my arms half the time…they always want to see what’s going on…
    Oh and PS…belly shot, please… 🙂
    Here’s my contribution: http://www.buckupbuttercup.net/buck-up-buttercup/2013/1/19/the-monday-snapshot-zoey-wears-vintage-edition.html

  4. He’s such a little man! Too cute!
    And I love Lainey too!

    Here’s my contribution: http://artistmouse.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/monday-snapshot-food/

  5. I am so thankful to have worked with you for the past nine months or so and gotten to go know you so much better. Love you, lady!

    PS – I might have to start saving up for one of those learning towers!!

  6. That learning tower is fabulous; I’d love to have one since Mira also insists on being held at all times and wants to participate in cooking when I am in the kitchen. It’s awesome not just that HGB made the pizza, but that he ate it! Way to go HGB!

    • I really cannot recommend them enough. It felt silly at first, but holding them is neither awesome nor safe if you are as observant as I am! And his eating has FINALLY turned a corner. He still eats like a bird, but at least not like an anorexic bird.

  7. I like this tactic – teach the older kid how to cook so they can take over some of the household chores while mom is taking care of the newborn. Very smart 😉
    Here’s our Monday Snapshot:
    http://leviandangela.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/monday-snapshot-jazz/

  8. He’s so adorable up there all chef like….I’ve said it before, as soon as Raegan can stand on her own we’re getting one of these learning towers….I can’t wait!!!

  9. emskyrooney says:

    Love the pizza chef pics! When we attempt “make your own pizza” night most of the cheese ends up being eaten before it gets to the pizza! Here’s my contribution: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/01/monday-snapshot-playground.html

  10. Poppyseed and Muffin says:

    it’s never too early to start in the kitchen. dishes can’t be far behind…
    here’s our link: http://poppyseedandmuffin.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/the-monday-snapshot/

  11. Look at your little pizza maker! So cute! I don’t get Lainey, but I LOVE celebrity gossip sites. I’m a big fan of Celebitchy.

    • I actually got the idea to start “seeing what he could do” earlier than I would have thought from you. I remember you putting up a post about baking a yogurt cake (muffins?) with D some time last year. I thought that was so neat!

  12. Thanks to your love of the learning tower, we are GETTING ONE! HUZZAH! B is in charge of picking the “safest” one for Matthew. All it took was me letting Matthew help me one night, standing on a chair next to me cutting things (with a knife, GASP!) and B asked, “what’s that kitchen tower you want for him?” MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

    That pizza looks awesome, HGB! Make me one, will you?

  13. Dude! PIZZA MAN! I was fully expecting him to have a chef hat on! He rocks the hats 😉 Okay..need the link to the tower of goodness. PLEASE!!!

  14. lyndellmaree says:

    What a great way to get them to eat their food, and he made a good choice with the broccoli 🙂
    I am trying to get in there early with healthy food by growing our own –
    http://showusyourcraftybits.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/the-monday-snapshot/

  15. Commented on the awesome HGB earlier but hadn’t added my own Monday Snapshot at that point… but now I have… well kind of 😉

    http://palmtreemama.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/monday-snapshot-does-this-count-1st-year-montage/

  16. Love gettin to see that little dudes face over in this space too. You can never get too much of HGB! I haven’t read Lainey before, but I’m a sucker for tmz. I even used to watch the show before bed, but then they bumped it back a time slot so now I can’t stay up on my celebrity trash. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in and learn a little more about SRB (Sarah – one of our main contributors) this […]

  2. […] post is part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot. Check it […]

  3. […] Part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot […]

  4. […] is my contribution to PAIL’s Monday Snapshot. Hop on over to check out who’s featured this […]

  5. […] is my contribution to the Monday Snapshot over at PAIL.  Go and check out the […]

  6. […] Check out the other Monday Snapshots (that are actually snapshots)! […]

  7. […] kicked off our week with this Monday’s Snapshot featuring our very own SRB of Little Chicken Nuggets. Check out HGB making pizza like a […]

