the monday snapshot – traathy

This week, Traathy of Happily Ever After (and one of the PAIL contributors!) is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

****

GOOD MORNING WORLD!!!

This past month has been I-N-S-A-N-E!!! I went back to work after a year and oh wow – HOLY ADJUSTMENT!!! It’s been good though. Super hard to leave Ky in the morning but it’s somehow working. Phew! Part of my adjusting has been limiting my internet time when I get home because I only get about 3 hours with her once I pick her up and reading & writing has gone downhill like mad on the blog front. Hoping to find my groove sometime…oh about Spring Break or errr…summer perhaps?!?! 😉

This past weekend was just amazing. We had a huge party for Ky’s first birthday and holy cow…everyone (and I mean EVERYONE) showed. We had two hours of fun at a little community centre room around the corner from our house and it went off just perfect. Ky’s entire birth family (minus birth mom who was out of town) came and introductions went off without a hitch!!! My mom’s head did NOT fly off her head when introduced to her birth grandmother 😉 More details over on my blog later today!

Oh ya, it was my 35th yesterday too…so really. BEST BIRTHDAY PARTY EVER!!!

And because I get to be master and commander of the Monday Snapshot…here’s a couple pictures of the party.

"holy crap, why have I never had sugar before??"

“holy crap, why have I never had sugar before??”

Birthday girls!

Birthday girls!

*****

Now, get to know a little more about ME with my answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started blogging almost two years ago in January of 2011 after lurking on a few blogs who’s authors were dealing with recurrent pregnancy loss. One night I just sat down and started typing. Over the course of the next four nights I wrote out almost two years of our hell. Once I started typing I just could not stop. It was the most about of positive therapy that I’ve ever had to date. It was like I finally allowed myself the opportunity to comprehend and believe that our recurrent losses had actually happened. I’m pretty sure I was in denial before that. I don’t blog as often as I did before but I write when the lightning strikes or I get all riled up about something 🙂

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

This is always a hard one for me to answer because it’s complex as all hell. In short, we started our journey wanting to adopt OR do IVF w/PGD so as to eliminate the Huntingtons gene that is in my husbands family from being passed onto any children we might have. We decided we would try the IVF route once and then proceed with adoption if it didn’t work. I had like ZERO eggs respond to the higest dose of IVF meds and our cycle was cancelled before egg retreival. Insert freakout only to get pregnant naturally the next month and promptly decided that we’d take the 50/50 risk of HD for a healthy baby regardless. Unfortunately at 21.5 weeks we found out a multitude of things were wrong with our daughter (none of them being Huntingtons) and we were forced to have a second trimester abortion in June of 2010. Those of you who have been through recurrent loss know that despite whatever hell you have been through you will try again – and so we did three more times with no success. In April of 2011, in the midst of our fourth loss we registered with a local adoption agency and when we were finally done with the paper work it was four months later that we were matched with a birth mother locally. Just 11 days after meeting her was the birth of our daughter on January 29th, 2012. We are in a fully open adoption with our daughters family learning the ropes as we go. We’ve never learned why biology never worked for us but we just plain ole’ don’t care anymore. We feel like we have our “meant to be” and don’t dwell on the past anymore.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I don’t think I’m very unique in the blogging world. I try my hardest to be as honest as possible and I never hold back when I write. I’m an opinionated jackass most of the time but I’m also that girl who will talk to you about the ALL shit you’ve been through despite how uncomfortable it may make other people.

4) One word to describe yourself:

Sincere/jackass (my husband agrees)

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

Ok. So when I met my husband I told him this: “I hate cooking. I’m gonna tell you now that I will never have dinner on the table after work so you better be okay with cooking all our meals”. Verbatium. Luckily, he’s one hellava an Italian cook and enjoys it. MMMM baby. My secret is this: I do love “occasion” cooking. Like the kind where you GO ALL OUT. Holiday dinners, birthday dinners, special treat days. I’m all over it. Why, becasue I love the attention!!!! People are always like “remember when you made that “insert awesome meal here” and I LOVE IT. Yep, I’m that big of a jackass. The turkey from 2008 has been brought up every year at Christmas since 😉

I recently discovered Clockwork Lemon (oddly from my 21 year old little cousin) and I LOVE her recipes. There is no “fat free” nonsense on her blog – just some awesome damn good food 🙂

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Traathy at Happily Ever After!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Aww so nice to see these beautiful photos of you and your gorgeous girl!!! 🙂 Happy 1st birthday to her (my Alidia’s 1st birthday was just on the 15th). So great that everyone made it out and all had a great time together. Happy birthday to you as well!!!

    Hope to get my own Monday Snapshot up a bit later today.

  2. elizabethkbaker says:

    Beautiful pictures! Happy Happy Birthday!

    I finally did a Monday Snapshot!
    http://snips-snails-puppydogtales.blogspot.com/2013/01/the-monday-snapshot-big-boy-swing.html

  3. Happy Birthdays! Great pics, and OMG does that cake look amazing. Here’s our snapshot this week: http://leviandangela.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/monday-snapshot-stach/

  4. What a fun weekend with the double birthdays and happy belated birthday to you both!!! I’m so glad to hear that it all went pretty darn smoothly and that ALL the family could be there!!

    I posted a few pics today for my Monday snapshot… They’re about seeing my own personality in my girl! It’s scary!!
    http://nobabyruth.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/a-tough-cookie/

  5. Poppyseed and Muffin says:

    that is a YUMMY looking cake! .with such cute banner. 🙂 1st birthdays are the best (for the parents)

    http://poppyseedandmuffin.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/monday-snapshot/

  6. Beautiful photos of your family! I love hearing about how open (and wonderful) things are with Ky’s adoption. Such an inspiration!

  7. Happy Birthday to you both! Your beautiful girl and I share a birthday 🙂 Thanks for sharing your story! Here’s my Snapshot: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/01/monday-snapshot-baby-ann.html

  8. Reblogged this on Happily Ever After and commented:

    A little info on the b-day! More to come later tonight 🙂

  9. What beautiful pictures! She’s such a precious fairy! My little heffalump is slightly lacking in that kind of delicate grace…http://didiforget.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/the-monday-snapshot-avocado/

  10. Oh man, those pics are SO much fun!!! I’m glad that the meeting of ALL THE FAMILY went off well. Yahoo!! Happy belated birthday!

  11. Beautiful pictures of your family! It sounds like such a fabulous weekend with so many loved ones all in one place celebrating your little girl – and YOUR birthday too!! Here’s the link to my snapshot: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2013/01/the-monday-snapshots-fluffy-bum-edition.html

  12. OMG, I can’t believe she’s a year old already! Happy birthday to both of you!!! What an awesome day.

  13. Happy Belated Birthday to you and your little girl, who is adorable. (Mine is the day after tomorrow.)

    It looks like you had a great celebration for Ky’s birthday. I have a friend who adopted two children — as babies at separate times — and also have open relationships with the biological family (on the mother’s side). Although, not as open as what you have — which I think is great!

    Here’s my Monday Snapshot: http://artistmouse.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/monday-snapshot-snowfall/

Trackbacks

  1. […] This post is a part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot. […]

  2. […] is my contribution to the Monday Snapshot over at PAIL Bloggers.  Go and check it out – cute photos of cute […]

  3. […] here to see everyone else’s contributions and to learn a little more about Traathy this […]

  4. […] kicked off our week  featuring herself in the Monday Snapshot! Her gorgeous baby just turned 1-year old, so check the post out for some great picks of Ky […]

