the monday snapshot – chandra

This week, Chandra of  Metholic Blog (and one of the PAIL contributors!) is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

****Just a quick note – if your contact email has changed please be sure to let us know.  Normally we wouldn’t feature the contributors so closely together but I’ve had some trouble contacting people during the week because of emails bouncing back 🙂

****

Hey everyone! My husband had to attend a conference a week ago and I decided we would all go as A) there was a hotel pool, and B) there were shopping outlets 10 minutes away from the hotel, score! While at the conference we decided we would give Stella her first experience in a pool. Girl loves bathtub time and splashes up a storm and the pool was no different. Stella was all ‘GIANT BATHTUB!’ and had a blast. I’m sharing this picture even though it is not the best pic of me ever. Can you see how tired I look? Yeah, so the downside of traveling with an infant? Sharing one hotel room with said infant. It’s like she knew we were right there, at her beck and call, ALL night. Also later that day I got the call diagnosing me with postpartum thyroiditis (low thyroid function). No wonder I have been feeling SO awful and tired. Seeing this picture really hit home just how run-down I have been feeling. But then, you look at Stella’s face, and see she is having the best time EVER. And it’s worth it, and it makes me glad that despite feeling awful I took the time to give her this experience.

1st pool trip 1-24-13

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Chandra with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I have been blogging since May 2010. I have always been a writer, and when I was faced with a cross-country move I started keeping a journal of the experience of moving from the east coast to the midwest and my less than graceful adjustment. I originally intended the blog to document those experiences more, but then we became foster parents and got diagnosed with IF and the blog was a way to document that journey.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I always had wacked-out cycles so after BBT showed no ovulation for 5 months my OBGYN wrote me a script for Clomid. 5 rounds of that and no results and we were counseled that IVF would be our best bet. IVF #1 resulted in BFP and then miscarriage on Christmas day 2010. After that we took a break, I had a cystectomy for an ovarian cyst and DH had varicocele surgery. November 2011 we were gearing up for another attempt at IVF when I notice I am tired and feeling awful. I POAS and it was positive!

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

We are very open that my DH had varicocles, which are extra veins that cause low sperm count and poor morphology. This is a common disorder that does not affect function but is progressive and can render a man sterile. Also, I have a pony. Ok, I don’t really, but I do have 3 chickens that make me question my sanity on a regular basis.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Snarky

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

I would recommend:  AdoptUsKids.  It is a website devoted to finding permanent adoptive homes for kids in foster care. My DH and I hope to adopt some day. You can literally go to that website and see thousands of kids just waiting to be adopted.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Chandra at Metholic Blog!

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Stella’s cutie like her mom

  2. You poor thing – you do look tired but it is still an adorable picture!! Thanks for sharing a little background of your blogging story and such a sweet picture of you and your girl! Here is my contribution for the week: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-monday-snapshot-teddy-bear-edition.html

  3. She’s adorable!!! We have the same bathing suit for Ky – LOVE IT!!! It’s like a little old lady suit with the hat 🙂

  4. Poppyseed and Muffin says:

    pool time at that age is the best since they do think that it is a giant bathtub unless of course they don’t like bathtime! 🙂

    this is our link about shoe shopping:

    http://poppyseedandmuffin.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/the-monday-snapshot-2/

  5. I love the sun hat indoors – HA! I think this is a great picture of BOTH of you!

    • yeah, my DH was like “um, we’re inside, why do we need the hat?” And I was all “Hellooo, it completes the outfit of course!” And Stella loved it too.

  6. I am so jealous, I would love to be swimming and enjoying the water too! Love the hat and glad you were able to feel well enough to make the trip and enjoy your time! Happy Monday

  7. Chandra I thought you looked lovely in this picture! Nice to meet more of you 🙂

  8. That looks like SO much fun!! Yay for pool time! (and for getting your Dx so that YOU can start feeling better!). Hang in there hon.

  9. I see so much happiness on both of your faces!

    Here’s mine. My first contribution! http://babywithatwist.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/the-monday-snapshot-the-bad-day-do-over/

  10. Yay for pool hats! My 4 year old wore hers yesterday to the gym pool and looked like a blueberry in it (similar style but almost all purple). Awesome!

  11. She looks like she’s having so much fun! Love it! Thanks for sharing!
    Here’s my snapshot: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/02/monday-snapshot-five-months.html

  12. Love Stella in this pic…her joy is almost contagious. I’m so happy you were diagnosed and can finally start to feel better…Here’s to a refreshed you sooner rather than later! And I love the word SNARKY! Perfect!

  13. Such a beautiful photo!! Stella looks so happy to be swimming!! 🙂 I love her suit and hat. Too stinking cute. I didn’t realize you got a surprise BFP when gearing up to do IVF!! Wow. So neat to learn more about you 🙂

  14. Of course your child would rock a GIANT hat covered in flamingos! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] post is a contribution to PAIL’s weekly feature, The Monday Snapshot. […]

  2. […] Click here to see everyone else’s contributions and to learn a little more about my girl Chandra this week! […]

  3. […] is post is part of the Monday Snapshot over at PAIL Bloggers.  Click on over to check out other cute […]

  4. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly series, “The Monday Snapshot.” Head on over to meet this week’s host Chandra @ Metholic’s Blog and check out other […]

  5. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly feature. Hop on over to see who’s featured this […]

  6. […] kicked off our week  featuring PAIL contributor Chandra in the Monday Snapshot! Check out her daughter Stella’s first time in the pool and awesome swimsuit and sun hat! […]

