the monday snapshot – missohkay

missohkay from the missadventures of missohkay is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot –  meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

Hi, fellow PAIL-ers! I’m happy to be today’s guest host for The Monday Snapshot. I don’t normally participate in the Monday Snapshot because I password-protect all our photo posts from Internet weirdos who might steal our pictures and use them for nefarious purposes. But PAIL is special (and I can only assume has some sort of Internet weirdo firewall), so I’m making an exception and publicly posting today.
We’re feeling nostalgic right now in the ohkay household because in two weeks, it will be one year since Miss E came home! In adoption circles, that’s usually called “Gotcha Day.” I think that name is dumb, so I’ve dubbed ours “Home-a-versary” instead. Way better, right? (Just go with me.) I’ve been having a grand old-time making photo books and videos to celebrate. And attempting to make Miss E hold a piece of paper that says “one year home,” which is not working because she’d rather crinkle it up and tear it than politely hold it still for mama to take a picture. Toddlers!
For our Monday Snapshot, I’ve created a then-and-now picture of Miss E and me in her nursery with dessert-colored walls (extra points if you got my Juno reference).

 

PAILpic

*****

Now, get to know a little more about missohkay with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I joined Twitter in June 2010, and I still remember my first tweet: “Reading fertility blogs and laughing and crying. How did women survive before the Internet?” The instant support from Twitter was amazing. I was interested in blogging too but was skeptical that I could keep up with it. After some encouragement from my fellow tweet-ers (including PAIL’s own Mellow Mid-West Mama!), I started my blog in August 2010 and have somehow managed to scrape together something worth reading (I assume) at least once a week since then.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I’m an unexplained spontaneous aborter. That’s the medical community’s sassy and not-at-all-offensive (ha!) way of saying that I have miscarriages and they don’t know why. Perhaps we could have tried harder to figure out why, but after three first-trimester losses, mrohkay and I decided to pursue adoption. Our daughter Miss E has been home for nearly a year now, and we’re talking of starting a second adoption sometime in the next 12 months or so.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Well, miscarriage blogs sadly aren’t that unique. Neither are international adoption blogs. People who try to be funny but aren’t? Advocacy blogs? Transracial adoption blogs? Mommy blogs (gulp)? Yeah, I think it’s safe to say I’m not unique!

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Loquacious (what? If I had to pick one word, I wanted to make it worth your while.)

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

My blogging inspiration is Julie at A Little Pregnant.  In my blog reader, there are my IF peers, who struggled while I struggled, who I cheer on and who cheer me on. And there are there are, like, my IF godmothers, who struggled a good eight years before I’d even heard the phrase “luteal phase” and still manage a decade later to write a post that I’ll devour the second it pops up in my reader. Julie is heartbreakingly honest and really freaking funny.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit  missohkay at the misadventures of missohkay.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Oh my goodness, miss E is just a treasure! Great shots, perfect! Happy homeaversary.

    Our 6 month old little bundle is getting kind of chunky now, but he still looks little having a sunday sleep in in our big bed. http://didiforget.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/the-monday-snapshot-sunday/

  3. lyndellmaree says:
  4. Well this was a beautiful thing to wake up to! I can’t believe she’s been home for a year. She’s just lit from within, that one. ❤

  5. Her smile is so contagious! I love the then-and-now pictures, thanks for sharing! Here is my contribution for the week: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-monday-snapshot-family-movie-night.html

  6. LOL – Miss E’s smile is SO contagious. You can see what a spunky little thing she is, just by looking at that picture. So fun to see how much she has grown in a year! Love the side by side pic idea as well. 🙂

    • Ha, spunky is right – she was trying to push off me with all her might in this picture. But hey, she’s smiling too, so no complaints from me 🙂

  7. Happy happy home-aversary!!! Here’s my submission for the snapshot:
    http://metholicblog.com/2013/02/11/the-monday-snapshot-food-edition/

  8. Oh, and i LOVE Julie at a Little Pregnant.

  9. Oh my goodness, this girl!! She is just so beautiful. Wow, a year. Amazing.

    Will try to get my own Monday Snapshot up later today if I can figure out a watermark program by then!

    • Amazing that its been a year. Whenever I think of Miss E now, the word “sparkle” comes to mind… she truly does just that. Happy home-a-versary (oh yah, WAY less dumb than Gotcha Day, heehee) 😉

  10. Custard? Cheesecake? LOVE Juno.

    I remember the first photo you ever posted of Miss E, because my heart just completely melted. If you had told me she would get CUTER within a year, I would never have imagined it could be possible! But it is! She just gets better and better!

  11. Poppyseed and Muffin says:

    love, love, love her hair!!! just beautiful!

    here’s our snapshot: http://poppyseedandmuffin.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/the-monday-snapshot-to-catch-a-shooting-star/

  12. Hi, Miss E and Miss ohkay! I’m so glad you took my sage (ha!) advice and started a blog!!! I’ve looooved reading your blog and loved getting to know you through it (and even more in person!) hope to see you and little miss E soon!

  13. These photos are amazing – so special! I can’t believe how much Miss E has grown! She is a little girl now!

  14. Love the “then and now” photo! And congrats to you all!

    Here’s my snowy snapshot! http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-blizzard.html

  15. I love these pictures. So adorably sweet and the happiness between you two is radiating off the screen. Pure adoration and love!

  16. Love this! What a beautiful little girl Miss E is becoming! She really does radiate sparklyness.

  17. Love the pics…your daughter is sooooo beautiful!
    I have a friend who calls her day “Airport Day.”
    And yeah, one word, you picked a great one. 🙂
    Here’s my contribution: http://www.buckupbuttercup.net/buck-up-buttercup/2013/2/11/the-monday-snapshot-over-and-out-edition.html

  18. I love the picture of Miss E! She has the most wonderful smile and her eyes just sparkle!

  19. Miss E is so beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. […] featured today on The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL, where you can see a rare non-password-protected […]

  2. […] here to read about the featured blogger this week and to participate […]

  3. […] out the Monday Snapshot at PAIL, featuring one of my favorite bloggers today, […]

  4. […] This post is part of PAIL’s the Monday Snapshot. To see all the other posts click on over here. […]

  5. […] More (and hopefully less sloth-like) Monday Snapshots here! […]

  6. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly series, “The Monday Snapshot.” Head on over to meet this week’s host (and one of my favourite writers) missohkay @ the […]

  7. […] this post is a part of PAIL’s Monday snapshot feature. check out this week’s post there. […]

  8. […] is my contribution to the Monday Snapshot hosted by PAIL Bloggers.  There are lots of cute photos up today – go check them […]

  9. […] Now go on over and check out the other Monday Snapshots at PAIL bloggers! […]

  10. […] is my contribution to PAIL’s Monday Snapshot Feature. Hop on over there to see who’s featured this […]

  11. […] post is a part of PAIL Bloggers’ weekly Monday Snapshot feature. […]

  12. […] off our week  by featuring missohkay of the missadventures of missohkay in the Monday Snapshot! Check out the time warp pictures of missohkay and her daughter – a year ago and today. They […]

