featured post: “waiting room” by teach me to braid

Em is a fairly new voice in the blogging world who I started following in the past month or two, and I tell ya, she has been blowing me away. As I write this on Monday night, I keep thinking about how right on her post was for me. She and her husband have just made the jump back into infertility treatments for TTC#2, and her post “waiting room” is all about that experience, though maybe not in the way you’d first expect.

This happens to me every time I go to the clinic. Give me more than thirty seconds in that waiting room and I get this urge to start talking to the people around me. I want to ask the woman in scrubs how her treatments are going. I want to ask her if she has PCOS, endometriosis or low ovarian reserve. I want to ask about her husband’s sperm count and whether they have any friends who have been down this road. I want to ask if they’ve considered IVF, whether they’ve gotten second opinions. I want to ask about their insurance coverage and how she’s doing with all of this. Like really, how are you doing?

And I want her to ask me.

Right?

How often have we all felt so alone while sitting in that waiting room? How many times have you hesitated to reach out and talk to someone next to you when you’re waiting for your name to be called, even though you are craving support (and could likely offer some support as well)?

Then the post really gets good, because she compares that support that we all crave to the time she ran a marathon. Oh ya, she went there, and it makes SO MUCH SENSE.

Click here to read the whole post and find out how she tied it all in. 🙂

As always, comments here are closed so you can go visit Em and share your thoughts there!

*****

Em @ teach me to braid in her own words:

I’m Em. This blog is my way of inviting you into my journey. You are welcome here. I don’t promise to be right or great or revolutionary, but I do promise to be real. I share my home and my heart with my dear husband, my darling daughter and my pup, Murphy. I make pretty good cookies. I wait all year for the state fair. Oh, and I don’t know how to braid…yet. My ultimate goal in all of this is to glorify God because what may look like my story is really His.

*****

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Trackbacks

  1. […] the time it took me to write and post this, PAIL posted their weekly featured post. And wouldn’t you know? It’s this very post from Emily!! I told ya it was […]

  2. […] presented our PAIL Blogger Featured Post this week – “waiting room,” by Em of Teach Me to Braid. She talks about TTC#2 and the feelings of being back in the […]

