the monday snapshot – Em

Em from Teach me to Braid is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

I just finished a blog post about weaning, so I was looking through my photos for images of Harriet and I snuggled up together in our favorite nursing chair. I found what I was looking for, but I also found this picture and I couldn’t stop staring at it. I couldn’t believe how grown-up my baby girl looked, walking…running around outside in her jeans and pea coat. And here’s the kicker – I snapped this pic last fall…before she had any teeth, before she could climb stuff, before she learned to give hugs and kisses, before she fell in love with books. I’m struck by the way time is literally streaking by and I’m so grateful for those moments when it seems to stand still so that I can celebrate her, and memorize her, and just let her soak deeper into my heart.

Monday snapshot

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Em with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started blogging in July of 2012. My mom had been encouraging me to start a blog for years and I finally decided to go for it.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I have PCOS. It took us two and a half years, two losses (one at 19 weeks and one chemical pregnancy) and IVF to get pregnant with our daughter who was one in December. We will be starting fertility treatments again when she is fully weaned.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I think my blog stands out because I write with the non-ALI person in mind. I don’t use any abbreviations and I try to fully explain all medical terminology and procedures. On one hand, I think the abbreviations and all of that is great because it helps us develop a sense of community with one another. But I often hear ALI-ers complain that nobody “gets” what we’re going through and that fertile people can be so out of touch with our struggle. My hope is that my blog can help fertile folks understand our hearts a bit better. Avoiding infertility jargon is one of the ways I’m trying to do that.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

mindful

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

Lately, I’ve really been enjoying Wegen Tales. Shayla seems very wise and humble, a great combination for a writer.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit  Em at Teach me to braid.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. lyndellmaree says:

    aww she is too adorable – I’m already thinking my baby girl is growing too fast and she is not even crawling yet!
    http://showusyourcraftybits.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/the-monday-snap-shot-3/

  2. I am SO grateful to have found you recently through PAIL, Em. You are definitely one of my very favorite bloggers now!

    • Oh my goodness! What a nice compliment. And right back at you, Josey! You are just so real and you’re such a faithful commenter, too. So thanks for the sweet words!

  3. Wow, can’t believe this is from the fall!! She already looks so grown up! 🙂 What a little doll she is.
    Here is my Monday Snapshot of just another milestone of babies growing up too darn quickly….
    http://palmtreemama.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/the-monday-snapshot-first-day-of-school-edition/

  4. I love these old gems of photos we run across months later! What a great photo to stumble across as spring approaches – she looks so happy and joyful!

  5. Glad to learn a little more about you and start my morning off right with a picture of that sweet girl’s face! Here is my contribution this week: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-monday-snapshot-doc-or-no-doc.html

  6. Also a recent fan of your blog. My daughters are around the same age and we have a similar plan for TTC #3 that you have for #2 🙂

    Shortlink to my post: http://wp.me/p2rGDC-1m9

  7. Great picture! It is amazing how fast the time flies, and that sometimes it’s just a new pair of pants or a haircut that can make you realize just how much your baby has grown. Here’s our Monday Snapshot: http://leviandangela.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/monday-snapshot-sick-of-winter/

  8. What an adorable picture! Your daughter is gorgeous…love the color!
    We’re also about to TTC #3 in a similar time frame to you…wishing you the best of luck!
    Here’s my Monday Snapshot contribution:
    http://buckupbuttercup.squarespace.com/buck-up-buttercup/2013/2/25/the-monday-snapshot-daddys-in-albuquerque-edition.html

Trackbacks

  1. […] Click here to see everyone else’s contributions and to learn a little more about Em, this week’s featured blogger! […]

  2. […] And now I must use my babytoddler-less time wisely and get to work!!!! Here are some photos of Lids on her first day of school/daycare as part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot. […]

  3. […] is my contribution to the Monday Snapshot over at PAIL Bloggers, where you can see other cute photos of cute […]

  4. […] us off on Monday with a Snapshot from Em of Teach Me To Braid. Do you like cute babies in hats? I like cute babies in hats. As […]

