the monday snapshot – Amy

Amy from Not Undecided is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

I took it Saturday morning during breakfast.  Baby Ike usually makes a cringe face when we try bananas squashed up on a spoon or lay slices on his highchair tray, but we got a much more enthusiastic reaction by just handing him a chunk of it and letting him feed himself (and the dog, of course)!

messy

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Amy with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

My blog began in late 2006, a few months after my first miscarriage.  I didn’t write much about it at first, and never really intended for it to become an infertility/miscarriage blog, but I was struggling a lot in the aftermath of the miscarriage and knew I needed an outlet of some sort.  I had been lurking in the infertility blogosphere for a while already, and had been reading Dooce for a long time so I decided to give it a shot, figuring there could be no harm in giving it a try.  Now I can’t imagine having gone through my RPL experiences not knowing how much support is out there in the online ALI community.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I’m an RPLer.  I had four early miscarriages (September 2006, December 2009, May/June 2010, and November/December 2010).  All of those were naturally conceived, but it took a boatload of pharmaceuticals to get my last pregnancy to stick:  many months setting the stage with Metformin and low-dose aspirin, then a Clomid cycle with prednisone and progesterone supplementation thrown in for good measure, followed by 36ish weeks of twice daily heparin injections.  This everything-plus-the-kitchen-sink approach (we didn’t ever really determine a clear cause for the repeated early losses) did finally work, and our son Isaac was born in June of 2012.  We hope to have a sibling for him at some point, but for now I am still enjoying being amazed that we actually had a baby!

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

While not absolutely unique, I’m sure, I do have a fairly rare hereditary skin condition called piebaldism (http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1113248-overview#showall), so I have a white forelock and patches of skin with no pigmentation.  My mom has it, too, as did her mom, but my siblings do not and Ike doesn’t have it, either.

Also not unique but still uncommon, I was born on Leap Day (February 29th), so I only have a “real” birthday every four years.  Makes the off years fun, like this year.  My family always celebrated on the 28th while I was growing up, but some friends insist that it has to be March 1st if there’s no 29th, so I basically get a two-day birthday.  I fully intend to throw myself a ridiculous Sweet Sixteen birthday party the year I turn 64.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

changed

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

Misfit Mrs.  Having gone through RPL hell but never through IUI or IVF can be a weird slice of the ALI world.  While I could apparently conceive naturally, I certainly didn’t feel like a fertile, with the distinct lack of live births and all.  Misfit reached out to me during my last miscarriage with advice on what to expect for my D&C, and having that link to someone who had walked a somewhat similar path to mine really made the insanity seem survivable.  She puts into words what I’ve thought or felt so many times but have been unable to actually articulate.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit  Amy at Not Undecided.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. lyndellmaree says:

    So that’s the trick with banana! Rosie is actually spitting it out now, so I’m willing to give something else a try 🙂 You will have to keep the blog going so we can see a Monday Snap Shot of that sweet sixteen party 😉
    http://showusyourcraftybits.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/the-monday-snap-shot-4/

    • Good luck – it’s a slimy mess no matter how you do it, I think, so you may as well let her try it herself! I like your idea – still need to try to get those 20 questions answered. Have been too quiet lately – blaming the winter doldrums, I guess.

  2. LOL, Stella is the same way with food – give her the whole thing to eat (apples, bananas, everything!) and she’s good to go! Have you tried Baby Led Weaning at all? http://www.babyledweaning.com/ That has worked really well for us!

    Way cute pic of Ike. 🙂

  3. Thanks, guys! I wanted to do baby led weaning, but he seemed to take to purees more, at least at first. Plus, we are at eight and a half months and no sign of any teeth yet, but I’m not sure how much that really matters. It’s been a mix, but mostly purees so far. Yes, I need to get back to writing more often – hoping to do the 20 Questions today!

    • Stella didn’t have teeth for a long time. They gum things. 🙂 Like the banana you gave her, you can also try finger wedges of avocado, roasted sweet potatoes, etc. Not much makes it in the mouth right away, but they get the hang of it pretty quickly. 🙂

      • Awesome – his very first solid was avocados, though we haven’t had them in a while. And he loves sweet potatoes pureed, so I will have to try both of those in wedges, too!

  4. Molly loves bananas! She generally has both hands full and her mouth at the same time. Started her on raspberries which she loved as well. Cute little man!! Nice to meet you 🙂

    • Thanks, you too! I love raspberries, and he has loved the apples we puree, even though I thought they would be a bit tart for him. Will have to see what he thinks of raspberries, too!

  5. We’re doing baby-led weaning too- although I admit I can’t stand the slimy banana everywhere and avoid giving it to Eliza!

    I feel the same way about feeling like sort of a weirdo in the ALI world since we never went through IUI or IVF either…. will definitely check out Misfit’s blog!

    Here’s my snapshot: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/03/monday-snapshot-my-handyman.html

  6. Bananas were a great starting food for us, however now she won’t touch them unless they’re mixed in with something else. I think my dogs eat more of the bananas than my daughter does. Nice to meet you and I LOVE Misfit Mrs!

    • Funny how things change so quickly. I need to work avocados and green beans back into the rotation, I think. Not such hits the first few times around, but gotta keep trying.

  7. I just think that he is one of the cutest babies ever! I love his round head and his big eyes!

    Matthe wouldn’t touch bananas until SRB let him eat off of hers one day in Chicago – and since then, he has one every morning for breakfast!

    • Thanks, I’d have to agree! That is probably a good point – he saw me eating the other half, and when I handed him his chunk I think it clicked that he could eat it ‘like Mama.’ He seems too little to be acting like such a big boy! *sniff*

  8. Awww just adorable!! 🙂 Lids was the same with food in the beginning so we did mainly baby led weaning. She much preferred feeding herself the whole thing.

    Happy belated birthday for last week… or the day that didn’t exist last week! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] Click here to see everyone else’s contributions and to learn a little more about this week’s featured blogger, Amy! […]

  2. […] is my contribution to PAIL’s weekly feature Monday Snapshot. Hop on over to see who’s in the spotlight this […]

  3. […] is part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot.  Head on over and check out the cute kids to brighten your […]

  4. […] I was featured on PAIL’s Monday Shapshot.  Here are a couple more photos I took during the same banana breakfast on Saturday […]

  5. […] week, Baby Ike gave us a great start to our weeks with an award-winning smile in his Monday Snapshot. He was also nice enough to bring along his mom, Amy of Not Undecided! Click over to get to know […]

