the monday snapshot – Jules

Jules from Two Pink Tulips is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

We’re enjoying a lot of what I call the “weird toddler phase” around here. If I leave clean laundry out to fold, I can almost guarantee that within five minutes at least one of my girls will be wearing a pair of underwear around her neck. I don’t know what it is that compels them to do this since they’re always taking their bibs off, but it’s pretty hilarious. They do a lot of baby yoga too– legit downward dog, which I did not teach them. This adorable quirkiness is why I love toddlers– and it’s what keeps me going through those “good golly, pleeeeease stop pulling on my clothes!” days.

I couldn’t pick just one photo but didn’t want to clog up the page, so the photo below is a selection of moments from the past week that I thought were particularly funny. (In the bottom right photo, that’s Ham walking in circles stepping on our multicolored cutting board set.) I’m curious about what odd little habits your toddlers have picked up as well. I can’t tell if this is a normal amount of weird or if my girls are just genetically predisposed to being strange kids with funny, nerdy parents 😉

IMG_4738

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Jules with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started my current blog almost three years ago, about a year and a half after M & I started TTC. Before that, though, I’ve had a succession of blogs and journals on various platforms dating back to when I was sixteen or so, which is about how long I’ve had regular access to the internet. I’ve had up to three different online journals at once, which of course gets a little convoluted when you’re saying pretty much the same things on each one. Since I first started this blog, I’ve been down to two, and I only maintain the other to have access to a list of other friends-only bloggers who I’ve known for years.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

M & I decided we were ready to try to conceive on Christmas Day, 2008, five months after we got married. It was nearly three years later that our delicious little Chicken and Ham were born! We had no luck trying on our own or with Clomid, but our first round of Gonal-F injectables and third IUI was a success. Our lucky ladies were born on 11/11/11 and are now fourteen months old!

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Haha. Um… nothing? I have a typical IF-to-pregnant-to-mommyblogger thing going, I suppose. I do try to maintain a balance of photo posts, funny posts and ranty posts (it’s in my nature to argue; better I get it out on my blog!) and I think I have a decent sense of accessibility in my self-depricating and honest humor.

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Saucy

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

I love April’s blog Have a Banner Day. She is an IFer, but her blog is less about that than it is about her daily life with her family. She has a different voice than a lot of blogs I’ve read, which is really refreshing, and I’ve learned a lot from her. Her youngest child is within a few days of my girls’ age, and he’s had a pretty difficult but inspiring journey so far. April gives me a whole new understanding of and appreciation for parents of children with special needs. I sat in the library with my girls for story time last week and listened to a book that read, “Every baby, as everybody knows, has ten little fingers and ten little toes!” and thought, “Well, no. No they don’t.”

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit  Jules at Two Pink Tulips.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. Haha, the weird toddler phase, sounds familiar. Any time there’s something on the floor that they can step on (a magazine, etc) they walk around on it in circles. Especially if they’re barefoot – slick paper sticking to sticky little feet? A tactile delight I guess. Is that Chicken on the box? Little daredevil! THAT my girls won’t do, but I would say your quirky little chickees are in plenty of good company. 😉 Also, we have that “ten little fingers and ten little toes” book and we plan on using it when they’re older to talk about people’s differences. My husband was actually born with 12 fingers (they removed the sixth stump on each hand when he was a baby) so he always guffaws at that book.

    Love seeing Chicken and Hammy, as always!

    • Polydactyly on both hands, huh? I wonder if that’s common– I always thought it was something that cropped up on one hand as a random anomaly. I knew a girl in middle school who’d had one extra finger removed as a baby.

      I was thinking of you while typing up this entry. Anytime I have something to say about toddler behaviors and quirks I think of your girls because you seem to have a similar perspective on this particular phase of parenting life, and of course the “twin girls” thing sticks in my head a bit too. I wish we lived close enough for playdates!

      • Apparently it runs strongly through the male genes of his family – his father and grandfather had it too. I was prepared to see extra digits if we’d had a boy. 😉 Heh, I think our girls are similarly quirky and would love to play with each other. Oh the craziness that would be!

  2. Love the tumble turn in the spotty dress. Funny & super cute!

    My Monday collection Is here:
    http://didiforget.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/the-monday-snapshots-mirror-mirror/

  3. SAUCY. I like it. 😉
    Stella has started twirling in circles whenever you can…and then promptly falling over. Over and over again. LOL
    I love the downward dog from the cardboard box to the couch!

    • I forgot about twirling– Chicken’s been doing that lately too!

      I left that box there for about five seconds when I left the room. Came back to THAT and was luckily more amused than alarmed, but since then we’ve seen Chicken climb on and off of the couch pretty regularly so it’s something we’ll have to watch now. I’m imagining that the “push something over to climb onto it and reach a high thing” phase isn’t far off.

  4. Too cute!
    The only “odd” think Lexi has started doing is trying to snap her fingers – only she holds her hands over her head to do it – a future flamenco dancer perhaps…haha!
    Here is my contribution:
    http://dreamingofpinkandblue.blogspot.com/2013/03/monday-snapshot-easter-bunny.html

  5. The “weird toddler phase” – that’s a nice way to put what has been going on in my house for the last two weeks or so. 🙂 How cool that their birthday is 11/11/11!!! I know a 9/10/11, and now I know two special girls born on that lucky day. Here is my contribution for the week: http://blawndesblawg.blogspot.com/2013/03/the-monday-snapshot-my-two-kids-edition.html

    • The birthdate thing, combined with the “oh, there are two of them and they’re both girls” thing, always gets even the grumpiest of health insurance and doctor’s office receptionists to go “oh! that’s a special birthday!” 😉 Magic ice breaker!

      I love special date stuff. We nearly got married on 08/08/08 but that would have been a Friday evening wedding and we had too many out-of-towners coming to ask them to take so much time off work. Went with a later Sunday instead.

  6. My son does the’ attempted handstand on one leg thing’ all the time! ALL THE TIME!
    This is my contribution: http://waterbelle44.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/the-monday-snapshot-wish-i-could-be-this-comfortable-edition/

  7. Hahaha! I love how Hammers is “consuming the news!”

    Reading “saucy” reminded me of that KFC ad from a few years ago, and I could totally picture you singing it. Remember? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSNMAWiieCI

    • I’ve NEVER seen that commercial but I kind of want to memorize it and sing it until my husband begs me to stop now ;D

  8. Unfortunately I don’t think that it’s just a weird toddler stage! My 4.5 year old is still a giant weirdo! Here’s my snapshot: http://emskyrooney.blogspot.com/2013/03/monday-snapshot-birthday-edition.html

    • Ha! I’m okay with weird kids, and I’d actually be delighted for my girls to be little oddball preschoolers too 😉

      Just flipped through a few of your recent entries– your kids are adorable and you take GORGEOUS photos! From the looks of that “baby in the sink” photo you have a kitchen that I would cut a man for. GRANITE COUNTERTOPS, omg, yes. lol.

  9. I love your girls – they make me laugh! I think they’re totally normal!

    We have a rug with a border around the edge, and Matthew walks around the perimeter of that rug, staying on the border, over and over again. We think it’s so funny – others may think it’s neurotic. I remember doing stuff like that as a kid though! TOTALLY NORMAL!

  10. Definitely normal amount of weird. Toddlers are just weird! But so funny. 🙂

    Here’s my contribution: https://rsativus.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/the-monday-snapshot-3/

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to see everyone else’s contributions and to learn a little more about this week’s featured […]

  2. […] is part of PAIL’s weekly series, “The Monday Snapshot.” Head on over to meet this week’s host (a FAB lady and the most organized PAIL […]

  3. […] Check out other PAIL bloggers’ snapshots here! […]

  4. […] Tracy started out the week for us by featuring our very own Jules! I don’t know about you but I can never get enough ‘Chicken and Ham.’ Check out Jules and her adorable girls and see everyone else’s Monday Snapshots! […]

