the monday snapshot – Alley

Alley of baking & babies is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

*****

Canadians love to complain about the weather. For ten months out of the year, its cold, and the snow just gets in the way of the wonderful plans we have for summer. When summer finally arrives, its too hot, and the humidity just destroys any hope we had of being outside. Any passing conversation begins with “Hot/cold enough for you?” And for me, being 37 weeks pregnant in the midst of the biggest Ontario heat wave in the last few years (humidity bringing things to well over 45 degrees Celsius) just means that I’m getting my fair share of sympathetic glances and “How are YOU handling this heat?”

You know how I’m handling the heat?

With watermelon.

Ridiculous amounts of cold, sweet watermelon, doused in lime juice and eaten on my back deck with my (swollen, fat) feet in the pool.

And this is strangely fitting, because the little girl hanging out in my uterus is roughly the SIZE of a watermelon this week.

Watermelon for my watermelon. That’s life around here lately.

Alicia

*****

Now, get to know a little more about Alley with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I’ve been blogging for at least ten years; since the first wave of adolescent angst led me to a Xanga page. I blogged through anxiety and depression, through dating and engagement, through all of high school and university. I used my blogs as a way to stay in touch, as a way to distance myself, and as a way to express who I was (despite crippling social phobias). Baking & Babies has been around for over a year and a half – as an outlet for my infertility struggles, and a place to broadcast some fabulous recipes.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

After about nine months of marriage, my husband J and I decided we were ready to kick the birth control and try to expand our little family. After about sixteen months of trying (and the label of primary infertility), I was diagnosed with PCOS. With the help of some serious weight loss, naturopathic supplements/medications to help with my cycles and insulin resistance, and a heck of a lot of prayer, I’m now pregnant with our first; a precious little girl.

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

I’m a stress baker. This means my outlet for any emotion translates into mouth watering baked goods. The recipes and photos I post on the blog are perfectly suited to my situation at the time; and I think breaks up the monotony of my infertility journey a little. If you’re tired of hearing about the state of my uterus for a while, that’s okay. There’s probably a cookie or brownie just around the corner. Bake yourself a treat, and meet me back here for the next installment of my cycle-drama. Plus – who doesn’t love an awesome chocolate cake?

4) One word to describe yourself: 

content

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

There are so many fantastic IF sites that helped me through this journey; its really tough to narrow it down. So we’ll shy away from that for now. Check out Bakerella. Her recipes are delicious, her photos are fantastic, and she’s got some wonderful things to say.vIf baking isn’t your thing…check out the Stirrup Queen’s Blogroll. While technically a BUNCH of sites, it’s a foot in the door to the world of IF blogs. You’ll find something there that speaks to you!

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit Alley of baking & babies.

If you would like to be featured on The Monday Snapshot, please sign-up here!

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. I love this pic of you with the watermelon! SO close now. 🙂

    Glad to find another person who’s been blogging for ages! I had angelfire back in the 90s before most ppl even knew what email was!

  2. Congrats on 37 weeks! You’re so close. I’m so thrilled for you that your long journey to motherhood is almost over. Abiding with you.

  3. Wow – holding that watermelon beside you really puts it in perspective!
    Good luck in a few weeks. Almost here!

  4. Someone mentioned to me how hot this summer has been and asked how I was handling the heat. I said, it was hotter last summer, so really well, thanks 🙂 I love that you’ve been blogging so long. I always wanted to start one, but didn’t think I had anything important to say until I stumbled on the IF community. Congrats on 37 weeks…baby girl will be here soon!! My contribution is in the trackbacks below 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in and learn more about the featured blogger this […]

  2. […] is my contribution to PAIL’s weekly feature of The Monday Snapshot. Hop on over to see who’s featured this […]

  3. […] is my contribution to the Monday Snapshot over at PAIL […]

  4. […] Alley of baking and  babies, and find links to other Monday Snapshots check out The Monday Snapshot highlight over at […]

  5. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in and learn more about the featured blogger this […]

  6. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click here to join in and learn more about the featured blogger this […]

