the monday snapshot – D

D of My Life is About the Journey is going to open up the week for us with her contribution to the The Monday Snapshot – an evolution of the MMM feature, meant to bring the PAIL blogroll to life by giving its members a chance to feature themselves and make new connections. 

*****

Hi friends!  I’m D.  Still keeping it anonymous at the moment since I tend to divulge a little too much information that I’d rather not have my grandma read (yes, she has a Facebook page!).  Going through several miscarriages prompted me to stop one of my life’s passions, running.  No, it was never found that my running caused any of my miscarriages, but I pretty much walked on eggshells during the pregnancy with my son and didn’t so much as eat a slice of lunchmeat.  I wasn’t taking any chances.

Now that I’ve had my son, I’ve started running again, and let me tell you, it ain’t pretty.   Before pee-sticks, ultrasounds, and diapers were even a thought, I was racing several times a month, including half and full marathons.  I even regularly placed in my age group.  After the birth of my miracle baby in April, and almost 2 years of no running, I have become a super slow version of my former running self.  Finding the time to run is another issue because, well, there is never enough.  Finding the energy…ummm, that goes without saying.

My old self would have not have even bothered a run if it wasn’t at least 5 miles at a 7:30 pace.  My new self will take a two miler with baby in the B.O.B, period.  My old self would run 6 days a week.  My new self will take what I can get.  My old self loved the solace of running alone.  My new self loves running with my happily squealing baby in tow.  It is amazingly awesome that I can now experience one of my favorite pastimes with my newest little love, and he doesn’t care how fast I am.  He just wants to cruise with his momma.

D

*****

Now, get to know a little more about with her answers to the Monday Snapshot “5 Questions”:

1) How long have you been blogging and how did you get started?

I started blogging back in April of 2012. I was fresh off of my third consecutive miscarriage and had been searching the internet frantically for women who had gone through similar issues. I felt very hopeless and was convinced that I would never be able to have a baby. I found the blog of one girl who had several miscarriages and had gone on to have a successful pregnancy. I found her blog so comforting. I read through all of her old posts in one night. She inspired me to start my own blog about my experience in hopes that I could help give someone hope in the future.

2) Tell us a little about your ALI journey and your family (3-4 sentences):

I miscarried 3 pregnancies from August 2011-March 2012 and sought the help of a RE who ran many tests (including karyotyping on my husband and I) and found nothing wrong with me (or him). I had very long cycles, so the RE put me on Femara to regulate ovulation, which ended up helping me attain a successful pregnancy on the 3rd cycle. My little miracle boy was born on 4/18/13 and is the light of our lives!

3) What makes you unique in the blogging world? (e.g. special talent, rare diagnosis, life experience)?

Having 3 consecutive miscarriages in itself is pretty rare, or so I thought before I started writing my blog. I think writing about this topic in conjunction with my level of openness and honesty is what makes me unique. I took a very serious topic and chronicled my journey in great detail. It is so amazing that I have connected with so many other women who have gone through similar events. I have gotten several emails from women who write to say that I have helped to give them hope. This makes me feel like writing the blog was worth it!

4) One word to describe yourself: 

Determined

5) What blog or website (IF or not) would you recommend to others? Why?

I could recommend Waiting to Expand. I found Cassie’s blog right when I first started writing my blog. I love that her posts are full of emotion and she shares so many of the details of her struggles with loss and infertility and talks about complicated and tough subjects.

*****

As always, we want to see your Monday Snapshot as well, so please comment below with a link to your post– and of course, go visit D of My Life is About the Journey.

Share. Visit. Read. Comment. Support.

Comments

  1. You’re better than me…I decided to get into running DURING IVF!! Still not quite back into it 18 months later :-(. My Monday snapshot is here:
    http://didiforget.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/the-monday-snapshot-just-hanging/

  2. I’m like ozifrog – for some reason took up running during pregnancy. LOL. That being said, I am NOT an awesome runner like it sounds you were – I’m one of those happy to get a 2 miler with the BOB. 🙂 Staying active is so good for you! Beautiful pic of you and your son.

Trackbacks

  1. […] is part of a weekly feature called The Monday Snapshot over at PAIL. Click heremm to join in and learn more about the featured blogger this […]

